Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

It is officially spring!

The bad news is this means they’re going to steal an hour from us some time soon but the good news is the sun is shining!

In honour of spring and all the new baby critters coming into the world I decided to do a quick pastel gradient today with my new W7 polishes (bought from nailpolishdirect.co.uk for £1.95 each with free postage). I used pink, blue and peach from the sheer collection. I also added a little Rimmel Pro Peppermint. Due to the pale nature of these colours I sponged over a layer of white to speed up opaqueness and also to make the colour “pop”.

DSCF0270[1]

These three spring pastels cover to opaque in 2-3 coats. Peach. Pink. Blue.

Now gradient designs are fairly quick to do but they are fairly messy to clean up (especially to a standard for macro photography). Some people protect their fingers by adding tape or vaseline, I just took my time with cotton buds and remover after I was finished – just the sort of maverick I am!

Ready for my close up!

Ready for my close up!

This is what it looks like to the human eye (left hand)

This is what it looks like to the human eye (left hand)

This is what it looks like to the human eye (right hand)

This is what it looks like to the human eye (right hand)

So which colour combo is your favourite?

I am looking forward to wearing this out today as I head to the shops for a brand new bottle of white polish (RIP old Natural Collection White). The great thing about gradients, especially pastel ones is that they look great with art over the top. Watch this space!

Tools of the sponging trade - old makeup sponge cut up with scissors. The tweezers are used to hold the nail polish cover sponge so it doesn't go everywhere...theoretically.

Tools of the sponging trade – old makeup sponge cut up with scissors. The tweezers are used to hold the nail polish cover sponge so it doesn’t go everywhere…theoretically.

My little sponging station on the back of a book. A little polish on the back of some cardboard.

My little sponging station on the back of a book. A little polish on the back of some cardboard. Not to forget the tv remote to keep me entertained while it’s all drying.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on March 20, 2013 by in Nail Art and tagged , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
