Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Pop Culture Nail Art

I have to admit that I spend too much time browsing epic nail art on the internet. My favourite types that often get me excited are directly pop culture related. I love doing themed nails for events and exploring the new topical OPI releases for big movies or popstars (even their Muppets collection was pretty awesome).

So I wanted to share a couple of my favourite designs with you.

Firstly, I wanted to share with you the most time consuming, in depth and ridiculous mani that I’ve ever done. Nyan Cat Nails. In total, this took me around 5 hours and uses 7 different colours. I started with a base coat and a dark navy coat to represent the night sky. Then I picked out my 5 best rainbow shades – primary red, orange, yellow, green, turquoise (to show up against the navy) and purple. Using a very small, thin brush, I painted a very thin line of each colour – this created a rainbow effect. Then using a white polish and the other end of the brush, I dotted to create the stars. Finally, I printed off a tiny Nyan Cat for my thumb and applied it with a lot of clear varnish!

Who’s excited about Catching Fire? Not me, really because I thought the first film was a little disappointing. But still, I love Jennifer Lawrence and I get to stare at Liam Hemsworth for a few hours. So this one is more for the books than anything. This is a Hunger Games inspired design by Kayla Shevonne.

“It’s so fluffy I’m gonna die!!!” Despicable Me. One of the best animated films ever. If you haven’t seen the trailer for Despicable Me 2 yet then check it out – now! There are quite a few tutorials out there for “minion” nail art but this design probably the best I’ve seen (by Mini Nail Blog).

Did you see Katy Perry’s “Daria” inspired mani? This is some seriously talented nail art celebrating an amazing TV show. Daria’s outlook on life rocks.

Lastly, this next mani is my favourite design at the moment full stop. If I’m not looking at nail art, I am looking at cats or memes. That’s what the internet was made for right? This Grumpy Cat inspired nail art is by Spektor’s Nails. Grumpy cat is one of my favourite internet cats. I think this is because he reminds me of my boyfriend. But check out the detailing on his face!

Grumpy Cat Nails

What pop culture icon would you like to see represented in nail art form?

One comment on “Pop Culture Nail Art

  1. translateyourheart
    April 6, 2013

    I love the Nyan Cat nails! It’s such a whimsical, intricate design! 😀

    I’m a newbie to nail art, hoping you could check out my blog! 🙂
    http://www.translateyourheart.wordpress.com

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
