Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

S&S 30 Day Challenge: Pink

 The colors of gray, pale turquoise and pink will prevail. – Christian Dior

DSCF0660

Ok, so today it’s just pink that we’re dealing with and I took my inspiration from the back of the Marie Claire magazine that I bought last week. I was trying to think of something light and suitable for spring which I am told is going on as we speak (although I have my doubts). I used a couple of different techniques for this mani but kept a simple two colour combination – W7 Sheer Pink and Natural Collection White. Brief stop before I talk about the nail polish – how cute are the Natalie Portman adverts for Miss Dior? She is beautiful and I love her movies from Leon to The Black Swan. Ok… enough girl-crushing.

Moving back to the nails… 

 

DSCF0652

Quick apology for the mildly messy cuticles but I continue to have issues with pastels. So on mypinky and middle finger I used a base of the pink and applied the white over the top, then with clingfilm scrunched up I removed a bit of the while to get this mottled effect (to match the dress in the advert). On my ring finger I used my new white striping tape to make an off centre cross, I chickened out of turning this into a bow and actually quite liked just keeping it simple. On my pointer, I used the striping tape to create little pink lines and then added two light pink gems to the corner of the nail. Everything got top-coated down.

Finally on my thumb I have a thin coat of BarryM Pink Iridescent  which is a very sheer light pink gelly with tiny holographic sparkles in. I think this added a nice girly sparkle without being too blingy… which is totally a word. So, what do you think? I was actually pleased with how this combo worked together as I’m not great at skittles and this was my first time working with striping tape (available from amazon or bornprettystore).

DSCF0644

For all the details about this challenge please check out  Short And Sweet’s challenge. I have included a link to the inlinkz below so you can see what everyone else has been up to:  Inlinkz.

DSCF0653

7 comments on “S&S 30 Day Challenge: Pink

  1. Pingback: S&S 30 Day Challenge: Rainbow | Pocket Money Polishes

  2. Mina
    April 7, 2013

    This is a cutie! Elegant and feminine at the same time! Really like it!
    Also like the new look on your blog! 😀

  3. Pingback: S&S 30 Day Challenge: ZigZag | Pocket Money Polishes

  4. Pingback: S&S 30 Day Challenge: Polka Dots | Pocket Money Polishes

  5. Pingback: 30 Day Challenge: Inspired by a Song | Pocket Money Polishes

  6. Pingback: MoYou Rainbow: Chic in Pink | Pocket Money Polishes

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
