Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

S&S 30 Day Challenge: Rainbow

Day 7 and we’re going fairly well… I think.

I lacked inspiration for this manicure –  I did a lot of googling and reading and just couldn’t think of anything super exciting or new, did you know there was such a thing as a moonbow? I didn’t have enough colours to do an “alternative rainbow” and I wasn’t in the mood for painting leprechauns or pots of gold. I tried to think of ways to use a rainbow of colours but just felt a bit over-whelmed and under-inspired. I thought I would therefore go back to basics and use traditional rainbow colours to create simple rainbow nails. 

WARNING THIS POST CONTAINS PARTIALLY NUDE NAILS

rainbow1

Colours Used: Barrym Nude, Indigo, Foil Effects Silver and Cyan Blue. H&M Lemon Tree. Rimmel Double Decker Red. Maybelline Color Shot Orange Attack. Models Own Toxic Apple.  

There is no way of avoiding it, rainbow nails are going to use ALOT of nail polish. None of these nail polishes are new to my collection though and I just made the best with what I had to work with (which I suppose is a lot by a normal persons standards but not a lot by a polish addicts – I NEED MOORRREEE).

I started off painting all my nails with a base of nude; I am lucky that I have gotten away with  very minimum long term staining from my nail habits but it was still nice to have a shiney and clean base to work on. I did the accent nail on my ring finger first. I made a small blog of each colour in my rainbow order onto a small piece of plastic so they were all ready to go. Then I added a piece of striping tape diagonally across my nail, you could easily use cellotape as it doesn’t require a fine line. With a thin brush I added on my coloured stripes, removed the tape and voila all done – half a nail of rainbow. Along the edge of the rainbow I added a line of gems – it looked great with out them but I like a bit of bling on my accent nails at the moment.

Trouble hit me – what was I going to do on my other fingers? I tried a couple of different things and settled for added another accent to my thumb and then the other nails would be made up of the primary colours as I think having a rainbow on every finger would be overkill.

rainbow2So I sectioned off my thumb and added my coloured strips as before, then I added thin stripes in Foil Effects Silver to link it to the silvery gems on my ring finger (that was the idea anyway). I decided to leave the nude patches on both accent fingers as I thought black or white would be a bit too stark next to the rainbows. Shame that in the pictures the difference between the orange and the red didn’t come out – it is more apparent in real life.  All top coated with Sally Hansen No Chip.

Considering, I wasn’t particularly in the mood or feeling very inspired I am fairly happy with how this manicure ended up looking, I like my ring finger best. What do you think? Be honest! 

For all the details about this challenge please check out  Short And Sweet’s challenge. Please check out all the other wonderful creations for this challenge with the following link: Inlinkz.

rainbow3 copy rainbow4

13 comments on “S&S 30 Day Challenge: Rainbow

  1. Craftynail
    April 7, 2013

    I know how you feel. I need more polish too! Regular people would think i have alot but nail fanatics would call my stash laughable! Lol
    i love the accent finger with the bling!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      April 7, 2013

      Definitely ordered 6 new polishes last night (having cut down the shopping basket from 18…) I think I have a problem, maybe we should start a polish rehab.
      I really am liking my accent finger – jewels are all still there after cleaning out the rabbits and some washing up so I am happy.

  2. shortandsweetintexas
    April 7, 2013

    I love your accent ring finger!

  3. Megan
    April 7, 2013

    These are adorable 🙂

  4. Pingback: S&S 30 Day Challenge: ZigZag | Pocket Money Polishes

  5. These are so cute! I love the colours. x

  6. Pingback: S&S 30 Day Challenge: Green | Pocket Money Polishes

  7. emmamassick
    April 8, 2013

    i love the ring finger!! so cute! i need to get myself some gems! 🙂 i actually like the whole thing, it is tied together nicely!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      April 9, 2013

      Aww thanks :D. I am addicted to my little gems at the moment and they actually usually stay on a lot longer than I would have thought.

      • emmamassick
        April 9, 2013

        they are so cute!! they add sooo much to an already cute design! 🙂

  8. Pingback: S&S 30 Day Challenge: Polka Dots | Pocket Money Polishes

  9. Pingback: 30 Day Challenge: Inspired by a Song | Pocket Money Polishes

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
