Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

S&S 30 Day Challenge: Animal Print

I had an AMAZING night at the screening – the film was absolutely incredible. It’s called ‘LORE’ and set in Germany in 1945 and about a group of children journeying through the black forest to get to their grandmothers house in Hamburg. I would definitely recommend it to people who like to be challenged, like a journey, don’t mind things being a little bit complex. Oh, it’s in German, but is has subtitles 😀

DSCF0756

I am doubly happy because I actually love the nail art I did for this challenge and got to wear out to the movie. This is the first time this week that I have been actually happy with the way my nails have turned out but I must confess that I had to take these pictures in a bit of a hurry as I was running late this evening.

As you all should know, I am now in love with W7 Casa Blanca and I knew I wanted to wear it this evening but as I looked at my dress (a terracotta number with a black african-esque style print) I wondered if I could get away with adding to this sparkly black polish. Trying to save myself from a late night polishing session to come up with a design specifically for this challenge, I grabbed my BM plates and headed for the zebra/tiger stripes (BM223… or 233.. ermmm damn, I meant to write it down). I didn’t want to use the normal BarryM Gold/Silver foil effects as I wanted to keep this extra layer a little more subtle so I picked up W7 Sunset Blvd (which I am guessing is from the same collection as Casa Blanca) and started by just applying an accent to my ring fingers. I was so pleased with the outcome it ended up on all my fingers, kind of an inverse tiger design?

DSCF0760I haven’t had a good stamping session in a while; stamping is where I first discovered nail art thanks to Lou at SheWhoDoesNails. Reflecting on tonight I think it would be nice to start practicing and make the most of my stash of bundle monster plates. Would you like to see more stamping or do you prefer free hand art? I think I am going to try doing a bit of both, always good to have options after all. I chose not to top coat this design because I was in a rush and didn’t want to smudge the design, also, it was probably sparkly enough without being shiney too!

This design really catches the light with the sparkles from Casa Blanca and the burnt reddy tones from Sunset Blvd adding texture. I hope you like this as much as I do although the pictures do not do it justice. I thought I did a good job on clean up to the naked eye but the camera spotted a few missed bits >.<. Feeling like I am back on track with my nails anyway.  I tried to get a shot in “daylight” but it was more like “daygloom” as it has been pouring down with rain ALL DAY and it was slowly getting dark. Remember these polishes were just £1.95 each for a 15ml bottle… I still can’t get over the quality or how beautiful they are. 

DSCF0758

DSCF0765

Tiger Tiger Burning Bright… 

So, is this design a yay or a nay for you? I think inverse tiger is going to be a big hit. I love it when a plan comes together.

For all the details about this challenge please check out  Short And Sweet’s challenge. Please check out all the other wonderful the creations by clicking the following link: Inlinkz.

6 comments on “S&S 30 Day Challenge: Animal Print

  1. shortandsweetintexas
    April 11, 2013

    Gorgeous! Love the colors you went with.

  2. vancouverinheels
    April 11, 2013

    It stamped beautifully over the sparkly black 🙂 I have a stash of Konad plates laying around somewhere too, should really dig them out 🙂

  3. Megan
    April 11, 2013

    Great mani 🙂 Love this inverse animal print, I defo see this becoming a hit 🙂

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
