Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

S&S 30 Day Challenge: Fishtail Braid

I would just like to start by saying two things: 1) I promise this is my last brown manicure for at least a week and 2) I am so proud of myself.

DSCF0774

I am not a patient person and fiddly designs usually drive me absolutely bonkers but with the help of this tutorial from lucy’s stash and lots of concentration I actually managed to paint a fishtail plait on my ring finger. It did take me half an hour just to do that nail though so I left it as an accent to my design. I know some tutorials say you can just use the brush that comes with the nail varnish but I found it a lot easier to do this with a small painting brush.

Things I learnt… this was technically my second attempt this evening, I tried doing a green combo to start with but had a few problems. I wasn’t waiting long enough between colour stripes which caused colour dragging and general goopyness (as you would probably expect applying wet paint over the top of wet paint) and also that glitter polishes aren’t the best thing to use for this design unless they’re really packed with sparklies.

DSCF0779

I chose W7 Roast Chestnut and Sunset Blvd along with BarryM Foil Effects Gold. I thought these colours would go well together and they’re all pretty opaque with nice consistency polishes. This is definitely an autumnal palette, but hey, so is most of my wardrobe. Once you get going with the criss-crossing this design does speed up and take shape quite quickly, with minor breaks to allow for drying. By using a small paint brush I was controlling the amount of polish being applied and doing my best to make sure it was only just as much as I needed to a) speed up drying and b) prevent the polish on my nail from becoming too thick as the layers built up.

For my thumb I used a thin striping brush to create these loose parallel lines (trying to make a deconstructed plait) and added two small gems from my little wheel. I honestly thought this challenge was going to be a nightmare but I can happily say that I will be doing this manicure again in the future. I haven’t tried painting this with my non-dominant hand but I am not too worried as any wobbles and slips can be straightened out with the next line. Sorry, I am bragging a bit here but I have surprised myself with how well this worked out. Feeling optimistic and over the bad nail art hump from the start of the week!  What nail designs have intimated you in the past? Have you got any top nail art tips to share? Most importantly, do you share my love for brown?!

DSCF0781

Quick Update: Check out Craftynail’s design for today… we somehow managed to create the exact same colour scheme fishtail! Also just noticed how alien my hand looks in the above picture…sorry!

For all the details about this challenge please check out  Short And Sweet’s challenge. Please check out all the other wonderful creations by clicking the following link: Inlinkz.

7 comments on “S&S 30 Day Challenge: Fishtail Braid

  1. Ooh La La Nails
    April 12, 2013

    Gorgeous! Such fab colours, well done…yay!

  2. Craftynail
    April 12, 2013

    Our fishtails match! How funny that we used the same exact color scheme?

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      April 12, 2013

      Great minds think alike 😉 and maybe the polish fumes take their effect after a while…

  3. leann
    April 12, 2013

    Lol@alien hand. Ahahaha that was so funny!

  4. Glitter Me This
    April 12, 2013

    You are rockin this color combo!!! Love it!!!

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
