Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

S&S 30 Day Challenge: French tips (with a twist)

And the twist is… I now have a new camera and I apparently cannot do french tips, so this is what I ended up with:

38edit

TAAADDAAAAAA! I have built a micro studio on my bedroom floor using a bedside lamp, some mirrors and some white paper (yep that’s it). It is not as good as a light box or light tent but since it cost me absolutely nothing, that’s fine by me. Now I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to afford a new camera as I am currently unemployed but luckily a little birdy has loaned me the money and the shop had a sale on. I did treat myself to a £3 bendy tripod which has made quite a lot of difference too. I am far from a photographer and have had no interest in photography growing up – point a camera at me and I run the other way, so I am pretty proud of everything I have learnt so far and I hope you’ll enjoy the new pictures which feature no flash and very little exposure/colour adjusting by me.

On to the polish. I tried to do traditional tips in the glitter and they just looked horrible. I am just not a tips person, so I tried to echo the sectioning of the nail into tips and ermm  lowers (???) with the dots across the nail. I added dotted half circles to my thumbs and then just normal colour swatches to my ring and index fingers. The reason my index looks slightly darker is it got an extra thick second glittery coat by accident.

50edit

The base is W7 Sheer Pink and this polish is very sheer, it took three regular coats to cover the VNL and the bald patches. It does dry reasonably quickly and the layers don’t go too thick but I am fairly lazy so three coats is ALOT for me. As you can see on the thumb I did get a couple of bubbles but this is probably due to me not leaving enough dry time between coats and is not visible to the human eye. On my index finger I have added 2 thin coats of W7 Strawberry Daiquiri which is just too pretty for words. I have swatched this with no base coat and it takes 3-4 thin layers for opacity, it does require thin coats as otherwise the polish does drag and pool at your nail tips. It has a stunning glassy shimmer and is somewhere between bubblegum and cerise pink and kind of reminds me of the dresses the girls wear in the Shelia’s Wheels advert (other car insurers are available…). This polish has a wow factor but is not so over the top that I would only wear it on nights out, it would look goregous in the sun when the summer finally arrives (I am so over spring right now). Considering how many glittery microparticles it must have in it, this polish does also dry smooth although a glossy topcoat can’t do any harm. The W7 polishes do have a tendency to really coat the brush so I always make sure to give them a couple of swipes so that I only have what I need, not a problem, just something I have noticed.

So yes, the love affair with W7 continues over here and I hope you’ll all accept this as a french with a twist, trust me all my other french designs just looked… balls. What do you think of my new pictures?! Do you have any french tip tips?

edit47

edit3631edit

For all the details about this challenge please check out  Short And Sweet’s challenge. Please check out all the other wonderful creations by clicking the following link: Inlinkz.

4 comments on “S&S 30 Day Challenge: French tips (with a twist)

  1. eklinman
    April 14, 2013

    it’s really cute! also, the photos look so much better…i feel like i can see the colors more! 🙂

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      April 14, 2013

      Yay 😀 I am really pleased, I am actually looking forward to photographing now where as before it was always a battle to get something not blurry and not too strange looking.

  2. Craftynail
    April 14, 2013

    Yeah i had a hard time too! I did three frenchies today but only one of them came out okay! What the?

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      April 14, 2013

      I really wasn’t expecting french tips to be hard lol I think because I don’t have the longest nails that I feel it just makes them look even stubbier so automatic dislike from me. Le sigh.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on April 14, 2013 by in Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
