Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

S&S 30 Day Challenge: 3D Nail Art

BarryM Croc Effects

When I spotted this post I thought I was going to have to order some special supplies off the internet but I realised that my little gem stones must count as 3D and that I also had an untried polish which might work too. BarryM Croc Effects is something that I really wanted  for a long time but only got around to buying recently. I have read mixed reviews for it but I just wanted to give it a go myself. The instructions on the side of the bottle were pretty simple: 1 coat of a base colour, apply thin coat of Croc Effects while still wait, allow time for the pattern to develop. I started with my little finger (as it’s the smallest it would mean the least polish wasted if I screwed up. I used a base of Rimmel Grey Matter as I wanted this manicure to really focus on the black so keeping the undercoat plain seemed like a good idea. The other plus off Grey Matter is that it is pretty much a one-coater so making an easier base to work with. I applied the croc effects and waited… and waited… I thought it wasn’t going to work. Then suddenly little cracks started going, it does take time for the polish to finish working its magic so I waited an hour before applying a top coat (not pictured). As you can see there is some variance to the results with Croc Effects which reflects the thickness of application and I think may also be effected by how dry the base is.Croc Effects

Croc Effects  applies like a dream – it is glossy and spreads very cleanly which is good as it is applied over a tacky base that would be easily marked. It is not thick like many crackle coats can be. I am really happy with the outcome and I am looking forward to using this polish again. I have actually got this manicure on both hands and one thing I found is that this works better on warm hands; the temperature dropped in my room and my fingers were freezing when I applied to my right hand and the cracks were tiny and didn’t really want to crack. I warmed up my hands, reapplied and the results were much better. There is a slight texture to the end result but it is not as extreme as some crackle coats can be in terms of deep trenches, this polish also dries glossy rather than matte which I thought was really nice. I applied the BarryM 3in1 deciding to give it another chance as crackle polishes don’t have the same staying power (in my experience) as a normal full coverage polish. I have managed to get ahead with my posts so I get to wear this manicure a little bit longer than normal – I shall let you know how it wears.

BarryM Croc Effects

So for the 3D part of this manicure I painted a base of W7 Black which if you use a thick application could be a one coater, I used two thin coats just to avoid bubbling. I added little black gems while the second coat was still tacky; I decided on black as I wanted to give this dimension but stay monochromatic. 9 per finger is a new record for me (although I managed to ping one off earlier trying to open something, all the others are going strong and feel secure) I think this is quite an edgey look in keeping with the rocky trend of studs and leather finish polishes. It’s actually really nice to have one colour nails without them just being a plain coat of a polish. What do you think? I know I am a bit late to the party with Croc Effects but that is the way I roll and hey, better late than never. Georgie gave Seventeen Rock Hard a go at the weekend, should I give in and try textures too?

Update: I managed to wear this polish on my right hand for 3 days and it only showed a little tip wear so that is pretty good staying power. Yes, this does mean I walked around with hands that didn’t match for a couple of days… they match again now though.

For all the details about this challenge please check out  Short And Sweet’s challenge. Please check out all the other wonderful creations by clicking the following link: Inlinkz.

BarryM Croc Effects      BarryM Croc Effects

9 comments on “S&S 30 Day Challenge: 3D Nail Art

  1. Craftynail
    April 17, 2013

    I like the croc effects! Never saw it before! It’s kinda like crackle, but it looks smoother and the pattern it makes is more dainty.

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      April 17, 2013

      I was so pleased with it! It’s definitely different from a normal shatter. Apparently it comes in red too but I haven’t managed to find a bottle.

  2. thebubblybrunette
    April 17, 2013

    I love that effect! I’ll have to pick up a bottle for myself 🙂

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      April 17, 2013

      They have the red version on the BarryM website still but no luck finding it anywhere else. I love it too.

  3. theaprilissue
    April 17, 2013

    I like the manicure and are those beads on one of your nails? Those look tricky to stay on. I’m so curious as to how nail bloggers keep their nails so nice and cuticles so perfect! That’d be a great post.

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      April 17, 2013

      Thank you. They’re little gemstone beads I attach them into tacky polish and then top coat it – leave this plenty of time to dry and they should stay on for up to seven days. I will try and get a post up for you soon about my care routine but my hands aren’t in the best condition at the moment.

  4. Pingback: S&S 30 Day Challenge: GLITTER | Pocket Money Polishes

  5. Mina
    April 23, 2013

    The croc effect is superb! I think I love it even more than the normal crackle polishes 😉
    Great one!

  6. Pingback: Never Smile At A Crocodile… | Pocket Money Polishes

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
