Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

S&S 30 Day Challenge: Sugar Spun

Deary me, I have had one of those nights!

sugar spun nails

I have been tired pretty much all day and when it came to painting time I really was not in the mood, coupled with what looked like a messy technique… I was grumpy. After much practicing and starting again I did eventually actually come up with a design that I liked.

I ended up only doing half of my thumb with sugar spun as I could not get small strings to form for love nor money so thought I would aim for abstract statement accent. It was actually fairly easy to control where the strings stopped although be warned these thickened polish threads take A LONG TIME to dry. Especially if, like me, you do not have a quick dry spray to hand. 

sugar spun nails

Believe it or not the polish I used is actually high lighter pink but my camera freaked out at the day glow intensity of the neon and transformed it into the orange you see here. I tried everything to try and get pink but no luck. I took over 60 pictures of this manicure in varying lighting conditions. Ah well, it still looks pretty funky and I am not super bothered as is is a La Femme polish with no name to identify it. The white used here is… you guessed it… Natural Collection White.

I painted all of my nails with two coats of this white and then applied the design over the top. I just used the regular polish brush to create these half frames on my fingers although my middle finger would probably have benefited from being done with a nail art brush instead. Once the designs were dry I added a coat of Collection 2000 Sparkle Top Coat that I purchased from Boots today for £2.99. It is clear polish with ultra fine irridescent shimmer it just adds a little bit of depth and wow factor (even in low light). I did not add it over the sugar spun as I was worried it would flatten the texture of the now dry stripes. I would be interested to hear if anyone did topcoat their spun!

To Sugar Spin you basically blob some polish onto a surface and wait for it to thicken so that you can pull strings from it with a toothpick or a dotting tool and then you drag these threads over your nail. I am not sure if I have decided that I like this technique but I wouldn’t mind recreating this manicure in the future in a different combination. What colours would work do you think? Ok me and my headache are off to sleep, nighty night.

sugar spun nails

For all the details about this challenge please check out  Short And Sweet’s challenge. Please check out all the other wonderful creations by clicking the following link: Inlinkz.

sugar spun nails

 

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
