Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

S&S 30 Day Challenge: GLITTER

First of all I’d like to say HAPPY BLOGOVERSARY to us! We’ve been running for one whole month now, which is a huge achievement for myself and Charlie. I think it just shows how much we love nails. Charlie has very kindly let me do today’s challenge- Glitter.

I am GLITTER MAD. I think more than half of my polishes have glitter in them in some form or another and I love all things sparkly. So instead of choosing one of my polishes to mani with, I’ve decided to give you the best of my collection and show you TEN polishes. That’s right people – this is glitter mania. With each new polish, I’ve recorded how many coats you need to get a good coverage and comments on the polish itself. (Warning, contains many BarryM polishes).

Food202

So here we go…

Polish 1– BarryM Gold

Food203

Coats: 2

Comments: A nice even coverage and a nice colour generally – is exactly the same on the nail as it is in the bottle. Very subtle glitter in this one and is quite mustardy/brassy in comparison to the other gold that I’m going to test. A long wearing polish too.

Polish 2 – BarryM GoldMine

Food204

Coats: 3

Comments: This looks really exciting in the bottle. Big chunks of glitter reminiscent of 70s disco fever. Took quite a few coats to get a few coverage and it’s quite hard to get equal glitter throughout the nail. Generally I like it, would be good for a Christmas party.

Polish 3 – BarryM Red Glitter

Food205

Coats: 3

Comments: MAXIMUM GLITTER. I am wearing Dorothy’s ruby slippers on my nail and I love it. Deep ruby in colour – does what it says on the tin. Only problem with this one is that it’s very laborious to remove.

Polish 4 – BarryM Black Multi Glitter

Food206

Coats: 1

Comments: This polish looks amazing in the bottle. It looks like a super galactic starry night sky so I was very excited when I bought it. Unfortunately it does not look this awesome when it’s on. The glitter is very subtle, which I admit is nice sometimes but I wanted crazy space nails! The tonal glitter in this one is nice and only really needs one coat for a good coverage.

Polish 5 – George Starry Eyed

Food207

Coats: I stopped counting after 5

Comments: This looks so pretty in the bottle. The goldschlager of nail polishes. You can see that this is meant to be a top coat but I tried to get a glitter coverage regardless. Firstly – it smells terrible. So bad that it gave me a fume headache. Yuck. Secondly it took too many coats to be worth it in any way. Don’t waste your money on this one. Even as a top coat.

Polish 6 – Ruby Glitter

Food208

Coats: 5

Comments: I found this polish to be very misleading. It looks amazing in the bottle and I thought it was going to be like the Goldmine Polish where it was a black base with big pink glitter but it’s definitely more of a top coat. I tried to get it to work as an individual polish and it was fine but it takes a lot of coats. The benefit of that is that you can peel it off – easy removal!

Polish 7 – Urban Outfitters Festival

Food212

Coats: 5

Comments: This was given to me as a Christmas gift – I wouldn’t normally splash out on UO polishes so it was a really nice present and it looks really exciting. It does take a lot of coats to use this as your main polish and also looks a bit like Christmas decorations once it’s on. It definitely fits it’s name. Good as a top coat. BarryM does a very similar polish that is much cheaper.

Polish 8 – No.7 Milan

Food213

Coats: 1

Comments: A really nice pinky/purple hue. The subtle shimmer/glitter makes it perfect for work or business like affairs! It is, however, very girly. I like it.

Polish 9 – BarryM Aqua Glitter

Food209

Coats: 4

Comments: I actually bought this one for Charlie for her birthday and then went out and bought one for myself. From the bottle, this intense blue looks like it will be gorgeous but it is quite different on the nail. It’s still nice but not what you’d expect. Especially if you’d used something like Red Glitter before. I like the mixture of different sized glitters. It makes me feel like a mermaid.

Polish 10 – Collection 2000 Hot Looks in Shimmy Shake

Food210

Coats: 2

Comments: Less polish for your money with this one but much more exciting. Has kind of a holographic feel to it and a nice multi-tonal glitter. Comes off too easily.

For all the details about this challenge please check out  Short And Sweet’s challenge. To see all the other wonderful creations click the following link: Inlinkz.

4 comments on “S&S 30 Day Challenge: GLITTER

  1. vancouverinheels
    April 19, 2013

    Love all the glitter polishes! My question is, what is the best way to take them off? I struggle with the bits that get stuck to my nail after the acetone!
    Come visit my blog and let me know what you think of my Illamasqua specked egg nail polish review 😉

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      April 19, 2013

      Best way is to soak some cotton wool and wrap it to your nail with foil or wrap for up to 5 mins. It should all come off easy – make your remover do its job! The extended contact and prevention of the remover from evaporating improves the effectiveness.

      • vancouverinheels
        April 19, 2013

        Sounds good! Will do, I always scrub and scrub with no success 🙂

      • pocketmoneypolishes
        April 19, 2013

        Nooo don’t scrub!!! You know the polish is ready to come off then there is no resistance when you pull on the cotton wool 🙂

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
