Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

S&S 30 Day Challenge: Border Mani

w7border (5)

I tried doing full borders but because my nails aren’t the longest in the world it looked utterly ridiculous. So I have half borders and 2/3rds of borders for you today! The best thing about these manis is you do not need a super steady hand or even a nail art brush. These were all done using the brushes that came in the polish. I started with a base of W7 Sheer Peach which requires 3 thin coats for full coverage. I then carefully added my blocks of W7 Black stopping a few mls before the bottom of the peach. I reversed the bored on my index finger just to mix things up.

Peach seems to be slightly more orangey in this pictures than in real life but I had real issues with my white balance on these pictures so that is possibly why. As we saw with sugar spun my camera seems to favour turning things orange rather than pink. Despite the fact it is a sheer collection I do love my W7 Sheers for base colours and have slowly learnt to love pastels and lighter colours.

w7border (3)

On my thumb I simply filled in the centre with black although I did try making this a full border and then a pointed tip, I found this shape worked best for my nails (which are their natural shape in these pictures). I do not really shape my nails with a nail file as they grow to a fairly regular oval shape but this does mean that geometric designs with harsh edges can look quite strange.

There are loads of ways this mani could be spiced up – stamping patterns, adding more colours, sparkle… I quite like this block look at the moment. I do think it would be cool to recreate these corner borders but rather than change the colours use a matte top coat. I have seen this done with french tips before and the effect is quite cool. It would also add an interesting dimension to nails painted in “office friendly colours”. I am the first to admit my designs are not office friendly on the whole but where there is a will there is a way. Would you like me to do some office friendly designs? Let me know in the comments below.

The W7 Black is a weird one but it does have this lovely glossy finish if you’re willing to work with a slightly thicker polish. I wouldn’t describe it as “the perfect black polish” but it isn’t bad and it definitely isn’t wishy washy, for less than £2 I won’t complain. What’s your go to black polish?

w7border (4) w7border (1)

For all the details about this challenge please check out  Short And Sweet’s challenge. Please check out all the other wonderful creations by clicking the following link: Inlinkz.

 

4 comments on “S&S 30 Day Challenge: Border Mani

  1. Craftynail
    April 20, 2013

    I post work nails sometimes too (for other people mostly). Generally, I just wear whatever weird nails I want when I’m in the office! I counsel college students at work- I’m sure they don’t mind my funky nail designs!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      April 21, 2013

      Yeh I am lucky that I can wear whatever I like on my nails – not sure what I would do if there were rules! </3. I am sure the students love your funky nails too.

  2. Mina
    April 23, 2013

    Long or not, your nails are still quite beautiful and your cuticles are just as awesome – and to me that makes for beautiful manis, no matter what lenght your actual nails are 😉
    This is an example of that – a lovely borderline manicure! 😀

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      April 23, 2013

      Aww thank you Mina – my cuticles are all dried out at the moment but this comment means a lot to me 🙂

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on April 20, 2013 by in Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
