Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

S&S 30 Day Challenge: Neon

When I think of bright colours I think of tropical days in warmer climates so that’s where I went with my neons for today. I figured a lot of people would be rocking night club/rave looks so tried to come up with something a little bit different.

I am going to make a list of the polishes used here rather than as I go:

Pink – BarryM Shocking Pink

Yellow – H&M Lemon Tree

Blue – BarryM Cyan Blue

Green – Models Own Toxic Apple (new version)

White – Natural Collection White

Black – W7 Black

There are quite a few polishes in this look but it was quick, simple and fun to put together. It is an abstract take on lilies and orchids and tropical fruits with dark black seeds.

tropical3To create the majority of the fingers I started by painting 2 coats of white to even an even base and to make the colours *POP*. Then with a thin brush I added stripes of green and blue from one corner of my nail coming down to about the middle. 

Then in an opposite diagonal I added strips of pink and yellow. As you can see my stripes aren’t perfect but I kind of like that (especially as this means you can easily complete the look on your non-dominant hand!). I then added little groupings of 3 black dots on each nail.

For my ring finger I painted a white base and added a coat of yellow, I then waited impatiently for this to dry (it is important this layer is dry for the next step). Over the top of the yellow I painted a thin layer of pink and quickly with some scrunched up cling film carefully dabbed off some of this fresh coat, then to blend this look I just added a quick top coat. I then added to columns of black dots.

tropical2  My thumbs are a little bit different and I am not sure they entirely match up with the rest of my hand but I like them anyway! Base of white and coat of yellow, then I added upward stroke of green and towards the thinner tops of these strokes I added little blue dots. This nail would probably be the hardest to recreate on non-dominant hand but still do-able. I love how bright this manicure is and wish I was somewhere in the sunshine with a fruity cocktail in hand. Since I love it so much I am going to spam you with a few more pictures (I am going to build my lightbox today so hopefully my white balance issues will be gone for next posts!).


tropical7        tropical8

For all the details about this challenge please check out  Short And Sweet’s challenge. To see all the other wonderful creations click the following link: Inlinkz.

7 comments on “S&S 30 Day Challenge: Neon

  1. Craftynail
    April 22, 2013

    Bright and pretty! and so unique 🙂

  2. I love this! EEEE SO BRIGHT!!!!!

  3. Mina
    April 23, 2013

    They look sooooo great! 😀
    And most of all, loving the many pictures you gave us to feast our eyes upon and also absolutely loving these photographs – major improvemente in lightning! :)) **

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      April 23, 2013

      YAAAY (wow you were on a commenting mission today). I always worry about putting in too many pictures but if you like them then maybe I’ll continue!

      • Mina
        April 25, 2013

        Hahaha – sorryyyy
        But it’s just that I had missed a couple of good posts from you 😉

      • pocketmoneypolishes
        April 25, 2013

        Your hand manicure is AMAZING I was going to comment last night but it was too late to make sense.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
