Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

S&S 30 Day Challenge: Caviar

caviar5

Quick Announcement: Pocket Money Polishes is now officially Fingerprint’s New Blogger of the Month for April – I just want to thank everyone who voted, it really does mean a lot to us. Thank you to all our readers, friends and family for your support, comments, likes and follows, it keeps us going through the polish tantrums and the nail fails.

Ok onto today’s challenge! CAVIAR dum Duuum DUUMMMM!

I had a plan to do an intricate pattern with these tiny coloured beads but then I put on The Following (so so tense) and my ability to concentrate on two things at once vanished so I just went for it and sprinkled!

The base colour here is 2 coats of BarryM Gelly Plum which is a gorgeous dark purple. I am not a huge purple fan but I like the depth of this colour and the glossy shine is incredible. I never top coat Barrym Gelly polishes as I always think  it diminishes the finish. They’re about average when it comes to dry time, perhaps slightly slower than a normal BarryM as they’re slightly thicker. You could possibly get opaque in one coat but these days I am finding two works best for me.

caviar4

The caviar beads I have used are from George in Asda – I did try and topcoat over the beads but this did cause colour run so I reapplied and all of the pictures here are without topcoat (which means the beads are not a smooth finish and less protected from wear and tear). I will say that the beads applied very evenly to a wet coat of polish and do sit considerably flatter than I thought they would. I have been fiddling and they’re actually quite hard to persuade to move – my concern with caviar has always been how impractical it is to walk around with hundreds of tiny beads barely gripping onto your finger – I am fairly confident this look would last at least two days although the tip is most likely to begin showing bald patches, unless you pick/fiddle and then it will not be lasting  very long at all. I did not persuade the spare beads back into the bottle put instead trasferred to a little sandwich bag for later use. I used considerably less beads than I thought I would and you could easily get 2 full manicures out of this bottle and if you’re only using for accent (as I have done) then even longer). There are a range of colours available from George so it is worth checking out as a cheap alternative to the more expensive kits available. 

caviar2

As I really didn’t consider a couple of coats of nail polish and a light sprinkling to be very exciting (although it does look fantastic) I decided to spice my manicure up a little further. I added 1 coat of BarryM Pink Irridescent over my index, middle and pinky – the delicate holographic glitter catches the light beautifully but without challenging the accent finger. For my thumb I added coloured dots with a dotting tool to echo the caviar finish on my ring finger. Polishes used: W7 Sheer Pink, BarryM Shocking Pink, BarryM Cyan Blue, Rimmel Peppermint, BarryM Foil Effects Gold. I added one colour at a time randomly placing the dots as I went (I did slip with a gold one but the rest went on without a hitch).

So how does this all look together?

TAAAADDDAAAAA

caviar3                                                        caviar1

Does anyone else watch tv while they do their nails or do you prefer to focus on one thing at a time? I think I am a caviar bead convert, are you? Let me know with a comment below!

For all the details about this challenge please check out  Short And Sweet’s challenge. To see all the other wonderful creations click the following link: Inlinkz.

6 comments on “S&S 30 Day Challenge: Caviar

  1. Megan
    April 23, 2013

    Love this manicure 🙂 Caviar is such fun to do! I’m defo a convert! 🙂

  2. Mina
    April 23, 2013

    Oh yes, this is definitely a good one! 😉
    Caviar is just too cute! And Ilove how you also nail arted your thumb! 😀
    I don’t watch TV while doing my nails, but I do take the time to look through nail blogs and eventually do a sudoku or two in between layers 😉

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      April 23, 2013

      Waiting between layers is the worst part! Your distraction sounds more productive than mine though!

  3. I always have something on in the background as I do my nails otherwise I get bored coz it’s such a labour intensive thing!

    Loving this combination, your spots match the beads perfectly!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      April 23, 2013

      Thank you 😀 I always find the tricky bit is if what you’re watching finishes and you need to change channel half way through…

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on April 23, 2013 by in Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
