Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

S&S 30 Day Challenge: Tape Manicure

tapemani1 I scrolled through a lot of different ideas for tape manicures and decided I wanted to do something funky but that didn’t involve a million pieces of tiny tape (these all used three except the thumb which used five). I started with a base of W7 Sheer Pink which takes 3 coats for full opacity but it dries relatively quickly so I can live with it. I waited an hour to make sure the paint was 100% dry (as anything less and I would be ripping it up and would have to start again). The striping tape I used was bought on amazon but scout around for the best offer online – I haven’t found it in any stores yet but I will let you know when I do. Regular cellotape does work but it is tricky to cut into regular thin strips and makes me very cross when I try. 

I divided up my nails with the tape and then randomly filled in squares with my two colours: W7 Shirley Temple and Rimmel Pro Ultra Violet. I had a few problems with over filling my squares but got the hang of it eventually in balancing between not enough colour and waaay too much. Extra tip: remember which order you applied the tape and remove while the polish is wet for the best lines. 

On my thumb I added two extra stripes of tape as it’s a bigger nail and it gave me more random block options. Let’s talk about Shirley Temple for a moment, it is just beautiful and glistening and is a pink leaning red. I love this cocktail inspired collection from W7 and definitely think I will be investing in some more. Would you like some swatches? I shall leave you with some picture spam!

 tapemani3 tapemani4 tapemani6 tapemani7

For all the details about this challenge please check out  Short And Sweet’s challenge. To see all the other wonderful creations click the following link: Inlinkz.

3 comments on “S&S 30 Day Challenge: Tape Manicure

  1. Mina
    April 25, 2013

    I love this one and how clean it looks. I wonder what it would have turned out if you’d added black lines to it 😉

  2. Pingback: Nails Inc Battersea Power Station or How I Wear My Ugly | Pocket Money Polishes

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
