Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

S&S 30 Day Challenge: Metallic

space3

So, I decided to have an experiment and rather than use a metallic polish (as would have been sensible), I decided to literally stick metal to my fingers. I call the look ‘space junk’.

According to Wikipedia (which is never wrong): In 1958 the United States launched a satellite called Vanguard I into a medium Earth orbit (MEO). The Vanguard 1 remains in orbit over 50 years after launch and although communications were lost in 1964, it will remain in orbit for 240 years and is one of the longest surviving pieces of ‘space junk’.

To achieve this look I painted my nails black ( W7 Blackand added tin foil  cut up into various teeny pieces onto my nail, I  might try this look again applying some of the things I have learnt during this experiment. I think this kind of looks like an indie polish and the way the pieces catch the light is actually very funky.

space6

Things I have learnt: 1) You really want to apply this with a layer of clear polish as your base colour will pick up onto your bits of foil. 2) You can get your foil flat with patience and either a fine dotting tool or a toothpick. 3) If you don’t like textures you’re going to need at least two layers of topcoat. 4) Silver foil combined with glossy topcoat under bright lights can confuse your camera. 5) Whilst in space no one can hear you scream your roommates can hear your angry cries in frustration as you drop your dish of tiny silver bits all over the floor…just FYI. 6) Cut up lots of pieces of foil in advance, trimming foil with wet nails is a nightmare. 

Since these pictures were taken I have applied another layer of topcoat which has really smoothed the design. Is this a nail fail or on the way to being a good idea? What’s the weirdest thing you’ve ever used for nail art?

I can’t believe we’re approaching the last few days of this challenge…boo!

space1space5

For all the details about this challenge please check out  Short And Sweet’s challenge. To see all the other wonderful creations click the following link: Inlinkz.

4 comments on “S&S 30 Day Challenge: Metallic

  1. sophbabesss
    April 25, 2013

    I’ve tried this before and it really does look great! yours look super cool! xx

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      April 25, 2013

      Aww thank you, it looked better in reality – not a very photogenic manicure it would seem. Was definitely fun and quick though.

  2. leann
    April 25, 2013

    I used tin foil too!

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on April 25, 2013 by in Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
