Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

S&S 30 Day Challenge: Gradient

Okay guys. I’m going to warn you all now – this is way out of my comfort zone. I’d love to be able to do fancy nail art like Charlie does (we all know she is totes amazeballs, right?) but my awful clumsiness and impatience tends to get the better of me. So it was suggested that I try the gradient challenge – a relatively simple start point.

So here is my attempt…

Image

I went for a fiery sunset gradient using Fearne’s ‘Burnt Out’ and Rimmels ‘Sunshine’. You need a wedge shaped make up sponge for this trick and they’re pretty cheap to get hold of. I cut my sponge down so that it was the size of my biggest nail and made sure I had a flat surface area to work with. I then painted on my two colours in big stripes and patted it onto my base coated nail. When your patting, you can move up, down, side to side – this is how you get a good blended gradient effect. I did this for two coats and then top coated. Burnt Out gave a really nice shimmer to this effect!

This did turn out a lot better than I thought it would but my faith in my abilities is a little lacking to say the least!

For all the details about this challenge please check out  Short And Sweet’s challenge. To see all the other wonderful creations click the following link: Inlinkz.

2 comments on “S&S 30 Day Challenge: Gradient

  1. tattylou84
    April 26, 2013

    I love the colour combo!! I can never get my gradients to look as good as those I see on blogs so I use a nail brush or nail art pen to do a design over the top which sort of distracts the eye from the shoddiness and makes it look (sort of) seamless!!! 🙂

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      April 26, 2013

      Thank you! That’s a really good idea… I’ll definitely try that next time!

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
