Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

S&S 30 Day Challenge: Inspired by Polish Alcoholic

RIP long nails! Sadly I managed to break my pinky nail quite badly so all of the others had to have a trim but hopefully my nails will be back in a couple of weeks to where they formally were. Apologies until then for the little stubs! 

greentutorial2

So today was ‘inspired by a tutorial’ – I follow a lot of blogs that do a lot of great tutorials but as soon as this one popped up I knew I would have to have a go at recreating! I had a small problem in finding enough opaque polishes in a similar colour family (that weren’t blue) but I eventually settled on a selection of greens/greeny blues. I did a rubbish job alternating my polishes as I was a little distracted by tipping polish all over myself… not been a good day! Still I endeavored on and was actually quite pleased the end result although far from as vibrant and neat as Polish Alcoholic’s!

I applied the colours one by one in the rows with a small paint brush leaving a little time to dry between rows – I quite like how the end result is like scales and think this would be a great technique for fish/reptile inspired manicures! It would also be cool to maybe make a rainbow or a gradient effect building up colours this way – there are loads of options! Due to my polish catastrophe I only ended up doing one accent nail and filled the rest of my fingers with block colours it was a quick and easy way to tie everything together. This design is great for something a little bit different but does not take forever or a lot of practice to achieve – I think this is a great place to start if you’re not feeling up to a fishtail manicure yet! I will definitely be doing this again but think I will be more adventurous with my colour selection!

Colours used: Rimmel Pro – Peppermint (middle finger and design), BarryM Gelly – Watermelon (pinky and design), Collection Bongo Beat (index finger and design), Collection – Electric Dream (design, Seventeen – Potion (thumb and design).

greentutorialgreentutorial3 greentutorial4

Please do check out Polish Alcoholic’s blog – she does some great art and some beautiful swatches! ❤ This 30 day challenge has gone so quickly but it has definitely tested my skills. My nails are starting to feel a little bit worn out but never fear – I will get some revitalizing products on the go and the blog will keep posting! Apologies this week for the lack of llama time period challenge post but I will be catching up with that next week (I have a thesis deadline coming up so having to do a lot of studying around my painting!). Hope you’re all having a great weekend!

For all the details about this challenge please check out  Short And Sweet’s challenge. To see all the other wonderful creations click the following link: Inlinkz.

10 comments on “S&S 30 Day Challenge: Inspired by Polish Alcoholic

  1. fortheloveoflucie
    April 27, 2013

    I am in love with the scales nail art I’m really impressed its from drugstore nail polishes as well that’s amazing ! X

  2. Craftynail
    April 27, 2013

    Same wavelength again! I haven’t started my day 27 yet- but I was totally thinking of this one by the polish alcoholic!

  3. Polish Alcoholic
    April 27, 2013

    Thanks so much for mentioning me! You did a great job! Love how you created a ombre manicure with it 😀 And what a great color combo! 😀 YAY!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      April 27, 2013

      You’re very welcome – thanks for filling my blog feed with so many great manis!

  4. Jewelyz
    April 27, 2013

    Well done, I love the colors!

  5. Pingback: 30 Day Challenge: Inspired by a Song | Pocket Money Polishes

  6. Char
    May 2, 2013

    Oh no! I hate breaks 😦 this is a really pretty mani though xx

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
