Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

S&S 30 Day Challenge: Inspired by Fashion

blackandwhite3

This challenge gave me an unexpected headache as I scrolled through millions of images looking for the perfect inspiration – I feel like nail art is the fashion of the moment and I am forever being inspired by dresses, adverts etc so I felt a lot of pressure coming up with something new. Then my beloved transatlantic fashion sister reminded me of our favourite spring trend – black and white, so this manicure is dedicated to her. I hope you like it Steph!!

I used my ever trusty Natural Collection White, W7 Black and Konad Special Polish Black (for the stamping). BM-206 ( from last years bundle monster plate collection) was used for this eye-catching geometric circle pattern. Whilst the W7 is a fairly thick polish it just doesn’t stamp with the same crispness of konad. I needed to keep things relatively simple on my tiny nails so they didn’t look over burdened.

blackandwhite

I created a marble on my thumb by blobbing a bit of black and a bit of white onto some card and then marbling, I picked it up using some damp cotton wool (to prevent fibers from sticking to the polish) and transfered onto my thumb. Clean up was a little messy, but no more so than sponging. I have learnt that clean up is a lot easier while the polish is wet so that’s my top tip today. I feel like there is no enough monochrome in my nail life so be prepared to see more black and white in the future!

I am not sure my thumb does entirely work with this design but I wanted something to balance the starkness of the black and white without adding a colour – I did try plain grey but it just didn’t look right.

What would you have done on your thumb to go with this design?

I am sad to say that this challenge is almost over and it has definitely pushed me every day to come up with art and also to build this blog – I am really loving the whole experience and have been made to feel very welcome in the nail art community, cheers all! To many more *drinks up*!

blackandwhite2                                 blackandwhite4

For all the details about this challenge please check out  Short And Sweet’s challenge. To see all the other wonderful creations click the following link: Inlinkz.

7 comments on “S&S 30 Day Challenge: Inspired by Fashion

  1. Megan
    April 28, 2013

    LOVE the circular nail print! It’s awesome!

  2. Stephanie
    April 28, 2013

    I LOVE everything about this Inspired by Fashion Challenge! You nailed it! LOL! xoxox

  3. Mina
    April 28, 2013

    Actually, I’d say if I had to pick a favourite the thumb would def be it 🙂
    Lovely effect **

  4. Caitlin
    April 29, 2013

    Love your thumb nail!

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
