Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Llama’s Time Period Challenge: Imperial China

I don’t know ANYTHING about imperial china except for what Mulan taught me *ahem*. I remember from a documentary that the Chinese invented fireworks and that sounded like a good source of imagery for nail art. Fun fact about me for the day: I have a pathological fear of fireworks, least favourite thing ever. Actually, that’s probably evil buzzy critters but that’s another story.

BABY YOU’RE A FIREWORK…

fireworks1

I started with a base of BarryM Navy and I must confess I forgot how GORGEOUS this blue is and how wonderfully it applies to the nail, I almost felt like I was committing a crime by painting over it but I did it anyway. Not the first or the last nail art crime I will commit. For the majority of nails I added a coat of BarryM Diamond Dust which is AMAZING. Sorry, I think I’ve had too much caffeine today. After a quick google to look at some pictures for reference I started painting on my fireworks with a thin brush. I started with BarryM Shocking Pink and a fine brush and as I built up the labels and spanned out I added Natural Collection White to the mix.

fireworks3

I am sorry I missed out on Medieval last week but I will be coming back to it soon enough now that there is more time! No point in doing anything rushed or half-hearted after all! I repeated the procedure on my thumb using Maybelline Color Show Urban Coral, Rimmel Peppermint and Shocking Pink. I may have gone slightly mad on my thumb but I love the exploding colours! I definitely want to work on this technique and the colour blending has given me some inspiration for other art in the future too – always worth experimenting when it comes to nail art.

fireworks2fireworks4

Please check out what the other ladies have been up to using the inlink:

7 comments on “Llama’s Time Period Challenge: Imperial China

  1. Great interpretation with the fireworks!

  2. vancouverinheels
    May 1, 2013

    I love the thumb the most! It looks like fireworks, but if you squint, they look like impressionist flowers too! Very cool 🙂

  3. Mina
    May 1, 2013

    soooooo pretty!! 😀

  4. Pingback: Llama’s Time Period Challenge: Renaissance | Pocket Money Polishes

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on May 1, 2013 by in Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
