Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Pocket Money Polishes’ Nail Rehab

So today my nails are having the day off but I thought I would share with you some of the products that have become essential in my life since my addiction to nail polish really kicked in. Now, I can honestly say that I didn’t know what a cuticle was exactly until about 6 months ago when I really got into following blogs and doodling on my fingers. Having posted back to back for over a month now these poor undervalued body parts are beginning to show some wear and tear.

nailcare1

Step in THE MOISTURISER SQUAD! First up on the team is my big bottle of Vaseline Healthy Hands and Stronger Nails (this was actually cheaper than the bag size tube… figure that one out) which lives on my bedside table and is a fairly normal moisturiser that goes on creamy and rubs in leaving your hands nice and soft. Jergens Ultra Healing is a 50ml tube that came free with Marie Claire last month and targets dry skin, I mainly use this on my palms and elbows every now and again for a conditioning boost. Bee Lovely Hand Cream from Neal’s Yard is another Marie Claire freebie that I have already reviewed on my blog HERE and having continued to use it – I really do like it, I still only use it before bed as it does take longer to absorb than a normal cream.

The latest addition to the squad is Superdrug Conditioning Cuticle Oil Pen which uses almond oil and other goodies to soften your cuticles which makes pushing back and clipping (if you’re so inclined easier). This product absorbs in really quickly and doesn’t leave any greasy residue, the pen makes it easy to apply and so far I am really happy with it (I believe it was £1.99). I really cannot stress enough how important it is to wash and moisturize your hands after using chemicals (which is what cosmetics are) – they are very hard working body parts and don’t get enough love.

Do you have any favourite products? I know there are a lot of top end products out there but what are you best pocket money budget recommendations?

I have recently bought an industrial size bottle of cuticle remover – I have never cut or officially removed my cuticles but felt like it was time to give it a go. Since the clippers give me the creeps and it seems a very medical procedure to ‘cut’ I went with a potion/lotion. I will of course report back on how I get on! Have you got any nail care tips for me?

12 comments on “Pocket Money Polishes’ Nail Rehab

  1. Georgie
    May 2, 2013

    I’d like to add Superdrug’s Concentrated Hand Balm to this list! It’s like rubbing vaseline into your hands 😀

  2. lemmingsundae
    May 2, 2013

    I love Liz Earle superbalm for cuticles & nails, it really moisturizes and it smells amazing!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      May 2, 2013

      I am addicted to nice smelling things and I think that is the one thing really missing from my squad nothing has a WOW smell!

  3. Sam
    May 2, 2013

    ^ I’ve never used it, but anything Liz Earle is usually amazing. I tend not to be the best with hand/nail cremes and products, so I have nothing to recommend. 😦 Nice post though! I should probably be a little more proactive about protecting my hands and nails!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      May 2, 2013

      It’s something I had never really done before and luckily my hands were in pretty good condition despite this but it’s good to pamper yourself!

  4. I wish we had a SuperDrug here, but I am sure I can find a similar product.

    I wonder about those who do the nail challenges, frequent swatches, etc., about what they use for remover and their “routine” for that since it can take a lot out of your nails and skin.

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      May 2, 2013

      What I do: I do use an acetone remover which is quite harsh to skin so before applying remover or new polish I use a thin layer of vaseline on my cuticles and surrounding finger to protect it. It’s really important to wash your hands after using remover and moisturise too! Acetone free removers are meant to be gentler and you can also get conditioning removers with vitamins and oils in. Definitely a case of finding what works for your hands!

  5. Craftynail
    May 2, 2013

    Great! I love hearing about what products everyone else uses! 🙂

  6. Elise G
    May 2, 2013

    My weekday routine is: remove the day’s polish when I come home from work; wash hands; apply nail treatment or cuticle oil (Essie Apricot is a really nice one); slather hands with a thick cream; pop on cotton gloves while relaxing and watching the news. Yes, it’s crazy and a little OCD, but my hands are soft and my cuticles are not ragged!

  7. Mina
    May 2, 2013

    I can’t live without my Lemony Flutter from LUSH 😉

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      May 2, 2013

      I am feeling like I really should order some. Interesting fact: LUSH was founded in the town next to mine 🙂

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on May 2, 2013 by in Tools and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
