Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Pinstripes and Pixelated Flowers by OPI

OPI1

OPI I Vant To Be A Lone Star

 

 I am having a very stressful week and wasn’t actually sure I would manage to get a post done for today but I have just about got something together! As I posted the other day I ordered two OPIs from Fragrance Direct. I am pleased to report that both I Vant To Be A Lone Star and I Don’t Give A Rotterdam apply beautifully. I am afraid I didn’t get around to swatching Rotterdam but I did manage to paint all my nails in Lone Star. This picture shows three thin coats of the light blue polish which has a beautiful pale grey shimmer – the coats dry quickly and there was no dragging or bubbling to report. The finish was nice and glossy even without a topcoat.

OPI2

I really wanted to use both polishes so I tried to come up with an office appropriate design but this was just too dull so I blinged it up a bit. I used striping tape to create pinstripes – Rotterdam over Lone Star on my ring finger and the reverse on my thumb. I stamped little flowers from BM-201 using Natural Collection White – this gave me a bit of a headache as for some reason this polish just did not want to pick up today. I think the faded white works in this case as it is not too starkly different next to Lone Star. On my index finger I added rhinestones in a studded pattern, I attempted to do this with caviar balls but my top coat was drying too quickly and the little things kept popping off. I quite like how the soft blue greys work to keep this look fairly subtle but the white and the stones stop my nails from looking like overcast skies that we have seen far too many of this spring!

OPI3 copy

I Don’t Give A Rotterdam is a stormy blue with a real sparkle to it when I applied it to my thumb it did take 3 thin coats to become nearly opaque but as with Lone Star the dry time was quick and the polish gave me absolutely no grief so to be honest 3 coats of these OPIs took about the same time as two coats of BarryM which has a thicker formula. I did go slightly overboard with the tidying of my cuticle area but I find them trickier to neaten up while they’re dry (still in serious rehab mode over here). I give both of these polishes a thumbs up! What do you think of my OPIs?

I have also just started using the No.7 Topcoat and I think that I have finally found my soul mate! It dries fast, doesn’t smudge and leaves my manicure smooth and protected. I bought mine with a £3 off voucher from boots so it was only £3 but if I am honest I would not begrudge paying full price for this product as I can see it lasting a long time. Compared to my previous topcoats this applies much thinner but evenly so no need to retrace your steps to prevent a patchy finish. Do you prefer thicker or thinner formulas?

Would you wear this to the office? I love reading everyones comments – advice, tips, tricks and opinions are always welcome. I really do read them all and always do my best to reply! I will not be around this weekend but if you miss me too much I do have a special guest post coming up on Saturday over on Nail Art Novice! Yes, I am back to my brown ways but it is possibly my favourite recent manicure and I didn’t want to take it off.

12 comments on “Pinstripes and Pixelated Flowers by OPI

  1. NailArtNovice
    May 3, 2013

    They look really lovely together and I love the delicate patterns =)

  2. Bathelen
    May 3, 2013

    I got Rotterdam too – cannot wait to try it out!

  3. Megan Box
    May 3, 2013

    Oh yes, this mani looks perfect for office! Such a beautiful and clean color.

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      May 3, 2013

      I wasn’t a fan of it plain with my skin tone but it is really lovely and with the texture I am happily wearing it 😀

  4. Lyndsay Mackintosh
    May 3, 2013

    I love the No7 top coat, I bought 4 last week while I had the vouchers!

    Love your nails, really pretty design.

  5. Char
    May 3, 2013

    These colours look beautiful together! really pretty design x

  6. Mina
    May 3, 2013

    Cute skittlete and very discrete,t hus office appropriate, of course I’d wear it to work! 😉
    Just the right amount of classy and still with a zing to make you trendy – yey for rhinestones! :))
    I prefer my topcoats thin – first because they take longer to go thicker (which always eventually happens towards the end of the bottle) and because I can more easily avoid the patchy look when topcoating something heavier like 3D nail art 😉

  7. thenailboss
    May 7, 2013

    Really pretty polish, nice job! I hope you don’t mind but I have nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award 🙂 If you want to accept the award you can check out the details through my award post http://thenailboss.com/2013/05/07/one-lovely-blogger-award/

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
