Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Llama’s Time Period Challenge: Renaissance

tudorrose1 For the design today I used just about every nail art technique I know and I had a lot of fun. I was going to do some art based on some poetry but then I was browsing and noticed all the flowers in the romantic imagery of the artwork from this period and the pathways in my brain connected this with the Tudor Rose.

The Tudor rose unites the white of the York rose with the red of the Lancashire rose and symbolises the joining of these two families thanks to Henry VII marriage after the war of the roses. With the flowers finally in full blossom here in the may sunshine this seemed seasonally appropriate too. To create the roses I used my beloved vodka decal technique – printing out the outline and transferring it onto my fingers. I wasn’t sure how well this would work for this art so started on my middle finger. The eagle eyed may spot this nail is a slightly different base colour than the others (which are all Natural Collection White), the reason for this is a custom mixed an off white to make it look a little softer but the application of the franken polish was appalling so I scratched that plan and stuck with plain white. Once the designs were transferred I used my smallest dotting tool to fill in the roses with W7 Shirley Temple and Collection Bongo Beats, both of these are a little bit sparkly!

tudorrose2

For my middle finger I added a little yellow gem stone and dotted the last of my BarryM Foil Effects Gold to fill in the blank space – I was a bit annoyed with myself that the rose was off center but decided to work with it. For my pinky finger I actually cut the decal in half an did a better job of lining it up on my finger – I filled in the center with H&M Lemon Tree and added some leaves in what was left of the Bongo Beats I had on my glass sheet from the colouring in procedure.

For my index and ring finger I stamped using Bongo Beats and added blobs to simulate some more roses, I think this was slightly more successful on my ring finger but you live and learn! (My thumb also had these stamped roses but it was apparently camera shy today). PHEW! I think the only technique I didn’t use here was cling film… oh and gradients but hey, I have a whole week of posting to go yet! This is definitely one of my most complicated designs in terms of execution and visual finish but it feels really snazzy and I just LOVE when Shirley Temple twinkles in the light. The other great thing to come out of this is that I found out Bongo Beats works for stamping! 

tudorrose3

I don’t think I would wear this design every day but it definitely feels like I have art on my nails! Not going to lie, I have only done this on one hand because the colouring in was super fiddley, but I don’t want to take it off. I guess I am going to be odd handed for now. Ho hum. Do you ever do that or is it just me?

Don’t forget to check out what all the other ladies have been up to for this weeks challenge using the inlinkz froggie below!

21 comments on “Llama’s Time Period Challenge: Renaissance

  1. Craftynail
    May 8, 2013

    I was odd handed during my challenge from time to time!

  2. breakrulesnotnails
    May 8, 2013

    These are very beautiful and yes I am always odd handed! Mostly only one hand is painted.

  3. eklinman
    May 8, 2013

    two things:
    1) I always go odd-handed now, its the only way to keep updating my blog every other day!
    2) I’ve really enjoyed watching your nail art skills grow. This looks really awesome.

  4. Evie Somers
    May 8, 2013

    Hi, my name is Evie and i’ve recently started a fashion blog.
    I’m a big fan of nail art and love your blog!
    My latest article was a ‘how to’ on nail art and i was wondering if you could check it out and maybe even share it for me if you like it?
    http://mylittlelifeoffashion.wordpress.com/2013/05/08/how-to-do-newspaper-nails/
    Thank you for your time 🙂
    Evie xx

  5. These are soo pretty! Very British, love em =D

  6. thenailboss
    May 8, 2013

    Nice detail! I nominated you the other day for the One Lovely Blogger Award (I think the link made my comment spam though, sorry!) and if you’d like to accept it you can check out the details in my award blog post!

  7. Char
    May 8, 2013

    So beautiful! when I first started blogging I always did both hands. Now I only do one unless I’m wearing it out of the house 😀

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      May 8, 2013

      😀 Glad it’s not just me! I am leaving the house tomorrow, I feel pressure trying to decide what to wear on both hands :O

  8. ourpaintedworld
    May 8, 2013

    I always have 2 different manis! LOL!! Love the nail art!

  9. bunniexoxo
    May 9, 2013

    Fabulous!!

  10. Elin The Cupcake Cat
    May 10, 2013

    Wow, well done!! its really renaissance-y 😀

  11. Megan Box
    May 11, 2013

    Gorgeous, I love the ring finger sooo much!

  12. Nicole
    May 14, 2013

    These look awesome! I especially love the index and ring fingers. Good job!!

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
