Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Isle See You Later with a Sandwich

sandwich

I’m sorry that the application on these isn’t quite perfect but I wasn’t sure how this was going to work. You see, I am a sandwich virgin. A week or so ago I was lucky enough to get Isle See You Later from the new On The Shore collection from China Glaze and this was my first ever jelly polish. You can build up this jelly to a deep opacity or layer it over different colours OR you can build up layers of jelly and glitter, which is what I have done here. I combined Isle See You Later with BarryM Aqua Glitter and this sparkly, glossy goodness was the result. This picture shows alternating layers of both (3 of Isle and 2 of Aqua) starting with the jelly and ending on jelly. Yes, that is a total of five layers of polish!

Isle See You Later dries very quickly which is what made so many layers possible, it is also relatively thin so it is only the glitter which gives balk and extends the dry time. Aqua Glitter by BarryM gives reasonable coverage but would probably take at least three layers for opacity and it is in a fairly thick base so would need a lot of patience unless you wanted a gloopy nail. It’s very pretty though and an excellent topper, as well as sandwich filling.

I think next time I will try a contrasting glitter colour and see what happens! Another quick apology – the intensity of the blue seemed to make my camera want to turn my hands pink, I have done by best to colour tweak but all I can do is promise that I have fairly olivey skin and not lobster. What do you think of jelly polishes – what would you suggest works best in a jelly sandwich?

sandwich1 sandwich2

Check out what the brit bloggers have been up to this week:

9 comments on “Isle See You Later with a Sandwich

  1. This is really pretty! Subtle but lovely =)

  2. OK, I have tape manicures down and plan to try water marbling, but what is this sandwich concept? Does it involve peanut butter?

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      May 9, 2013

      Sandwich is basically the layering of polishes (usually a colour with a glitter) to give depth – there are probably better explanations out there.

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      May 9, 2013

      I’m hungry now 😛 Good luck with the water marbling!

  3. Kitsu
    May 10, 2013

    Lovely! The blues and sparkles really do remind me of the ocean.

  4. Raux
    May 12, 2013

    Very pretty! It’s understated and has a ton of dimension!

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on May 9, 2013 by in Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
