Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

And fade to purple

Now anyone who knows me quite well knows that my least favourite colour is purple, I don’t hate it… I just prefer almost every other colour. I thought that today it was probably time I had some purple on the blog, can’t let you get bored of seeing the same colours all the time.

purplegradient4I haven’t done a gradient for a while and it’s something that I would really like to master because it’s such a great way to transform two polishes for a dramatic look. For this manicure I used Rimmel 60 Seconds Pulsating and BarryM Indigo. Pulsating is a purpley fuschia with an almost metallic shimmer, it took two thin coats for opacity and dried fairly quickly to a satin finish. Indigo is a bright blurple which took two coats and a normal dry time with a glossy finish. I painted most of my fingers with a base of Pulsating with only my ring finger in an Indigo accent.

 

purplegradient3To create as little mess as possible and give me maximum control of where the sponged colour went a cut up a makeup sponge into little cubes approximate half a centimeter across. Some people use tweezers to hold these, I just used my fingers – that bit is up to you. I used the brushes to put a blob of polish colour onto my glass sheet (cardboard etc works fine too) and started loading up my sponge, dabbing to evenly distribute the colour. I then just build up the colour going from light to dark in a normal fade for my pinky, middle and index finger.

purplegradientFor my thumb and my ring finger I tried to create a center vertical fade (similar to the look of a duochrome polish) and I don’t think they came out too badly. I am not 100% happy with these gradients but for a change there were no bits of sponge attached to my finger and no random splodges of colour. The colours and the effect are very striking on my fingers but I think this look would easily work in neutral soft shades. Something about this manicure reminds me of sci-fi  movies although I am not entirely sure whatt, probably just my brain making random associations! I think that gradients make AMAZING bases for tape manicures and stamping so keep an eye out for some of those looks soon!

Have you got any gradient tips for me? Does the vertical gradiant work? Should I use more purple on the blog? Drop me a comment below!

purplegradient2      purplegradient1

 

YAY it’s the weekend, phew, what an insane week. Tune in Monday, same time, same place, different nail art!

13 comments on “And fade to purple

  1. lemmingsundae
    May 10, 2013

    These colours look lovely together. I really like the idea of a vertical gradient, had never thought of that myself and will definitely give it a go!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      May 10, 2013

      Do it! I look forward to the pictures, I might so a left to right fade next and see how that works out 🙂

  2. Mina
    May 10, 2013

    I really love how you did the gradient on your accent nail – fabulous! 🙂

  3. Purple goes well with so many things, so I am on the pro-purple side 🙂

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      May 10, 2013

      Lol Maybe you will persuade me… there is some more purple coming up next week!

  4. Nirah
    May 10, 2013

    Lovely!! The vertical sponging looks really interesting.

  5. Jim
    May 10, 2013

    Your ding great with the gradients. They become addictive. They make for a great base for stamping,

  6. breakrulesnotnails
    May 11, 2013

    They look great! I used to cut the sponge up too, but then I found it easier to keep it whole and cut off the used bits once dry. Get more use out of the sponge. Love the vertical ones ❤

  7. Char
    May 13, 2013

    hehe it’s one of my favourite colours 🙂 x

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      May 13, 2013

      I know, it’s one of my Mum’s too. I just have a thing… like some girls don’t like pink, I feel an aversion to purple.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on May 10, 2013 by in Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
