Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Monday means Margarita manis!!

This week on She Who Does Nail Art Challenges the theme is cocktails. I don’t actually drink anymore but I love the look of these fancy drinks and have had loads of fun making them on a few occasions. I thought this was a pretty good theme for nail art as a few different ideas bounced around my brain but I finally settled on margaritas which I think are so iconic for summer holidays on tropical beaches.

MargaritaA popular drink for this celebration of Mexican heritage and pride is the margarita, which is said to have been invented by Mexican bartender Don Carlos Orozco, who named his drink after Margarita Henkel, the daughter of a German ambassador who was the first person to try his new concoction.

Although there are numerous variations on the recipe, a margarita is generally made by placing salt in a shallow dish, moistening the rim of a glass with a damp paper towel and dipping the rim into the salt. Next, fill the glass with ice, and add three parts blanco tequila, one part freshly squeezed lemon juice, one part freshly squeezed lime juice, one part Cointreau or Grand Marnier, a splash of orange juice, if desired, and garnish with a wedge of lemon and/or lime – schmoozed.com 

margarita2As you can imagine the recipe for my margarita was a little different… I started with a base of Natural Collection White, sponged on a gradient of NYC Lexington Yellow and Models Own Toxic Apple and topcoated with Collection Sparkle Top Coat before stamping on my limes in BarryM Gelly Watermelon. The one traditional thing I did include was salt which I applied using a little bit of clear polish and sprinkling, brushing off the excess with a fan brush. The stamping plate used was BM-209, I have a couple of citrus fruit stamps but thought this was the most “limey”.

margarita4

I have seen tutorials on creating your own textured polish using salt and apparently it is safe to topcoat but I decided not to risk losing the crystaline appearance. Yes, this is regular table salt and yes the family gave me funny looks when I charged purposefully up the stairs and to my bedroom with the bottle.

This manicure was a real nightmare to photograph because my camera kept deciding that the lime green would contrast better with purple fingers. The pictures you see here are altered using photoshop to be as colour correct as possible – felt like I should be upfront about my failings (I hope this also explains why there are less pictures than normal). Aside from this blogging issue, this manicure is great fun and the sparkles from the topcoat add a pretty fizz to the finish.

The salt is not very practical (especially without a topcoat) and with a little rubbing will fall off taking some nail polish with it BUT hey, practicality and art don’t have to go hand in hand… right?! No complaints about any of the polishes today, I missed a tiny bit of green on  my clean up but all in all no staining to report which is good! I am feeling all summery now and ready to start my week!

margarita1

margarita5

11 comments on “Monday means Margarita manis!!

  1. Mina
    May 13, 2013

    It’s been a while since I had one, but you certainly capture the feeling of it! Love the salt idea – although not practical, it’s genius! 😉

  2. Stephanie
    May 13, 2013

    so cute!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. tattylou84
    May 13, 2013

    This is gorgeous!!!

  4. Megan Box
    May 13, 2013

    Aww these look gorgeous!

  5. That’s a clever technique!

  6. Caitlin
    May 13, 2013

    Love me some margs! This mani is so cute!

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on May 13, 2013 by in Nail Art, Tools, Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
