Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Never Smile At A Crocodile…

Unless it’s on your nails 😀 

BarryM Croc Effects

At the weekend I finally found a bottle of BarryM Red Croc Effects in superdrug and was over the moon as I had been longing for it ever since trying the black version. I wish they did more colours! Today seemed like a good day to test out new things so I decided to also try the new Maybelline Color Show Chalk Dust which is matte multi-sized black and white glitter in clear polish – in line with indie fashion and also a cousin to China Glaze Whirled Away from the Cirque De Soliel Collection from last winter (which I do now own).

croc2

To keep things from getting too busy, I limited the colour scheme to raspberry red, white and black – for the base colours I used Nails Inc Picadilly Circus and the ever beloved Natural Collection White (which was actually a bit of a pain but nevermind).  Red Croc applies exactly the same as the black, which I used a little while back during the 3D day of the ShortAndSweet 30 day challenge. It is always nerve-wracking with this polish waiting for the cracks to start appearing! It is worth leaving at least 10 minutes to allow to polish to reach it’s max patterned potential. I know that crackle is a bit last year and texture is the new thing but hey, this for me is something a bit special! Not your average shatter!

croc1

These pictures show just one coat of Chalk Dust which is pleasingly packed with the hexs and particles which also do not drag but distribute fairly evenly over the surface of the nail – no need for the dabbing technique today! The only let down on this manicure was the minor dragging on the dots with my topcoat brush but I think that was down to me under-loading the brush and being mildly impatient. I love the end look with it’s textures, colour and contrast. I think this is definitely one of my favourite spring/summer manicures! I am so pleased I got the second colour of Croc Effect but in a way I am even more excited to layer Chalk Dust over all sorts of colours! There are a couple of other polishes in the Polka Dot mini range from Maybelline Color Show which include a pink, a blue and a green base with the same glitter – these are jelly sandwiches in a bottle and have some gorgeous depth, for £2.99 I think it is a bargain!  

croc3Thought I would include this picture so you could see the difference of these two polishes over Rimmel Grey Matter. Unlike the Black Croc Effects this polish is not completely opaque and so will lighten and darken depending on what colour the base is. It does not show over black (I tried) and ends up looking very strange. It would be interesting to see how it looks over the neons that are everywhere at the moment but that is an experiment for another day. Happy Tuesday all!

8 comments on “Never Smile At A Crocodile…

  1. Julie
    May 14, 2013

    I’m not normally into crackles but I like this effect a lot!

  2. Nicole
    May 14, 2013

    I agree with Julie above, I’m over the crackle polishes but these croc effects ones are kinda cool! 🙂

  3. Raux
    May 14, 2013

    Ohh, the croc effect is so cool! It really does look reptillian!

  4. Kitsu
    May 15, 2013

    Wow, that’s such a unique crackle! I’ve never heard of crocodile before. I think I need that polish now, I have so many bags and shoes I could pair it with…

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      May 15, 2013

      Get on the hunt! I would offer to send you some but British postal service takes pleasure in destroying smuggled polish at the moment.

      • Kitsu
        May 15, 2013

        Haha and the US postal service loves to confiscate liquids. It would be a miracle if we could get a bottle of nail polish between us with those two forces!

  5. Craftynail
    May 15, 2013

    Hey! I love your blog so I’m giving you the ‘one lovely blog’ award ! Check it out here: http://craftynail.wordpress.com/2013/05/15/a-lovely-award-and-some-lovely-nail-spam/

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
