Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Llama’s Time Period Challenge: Industrial Revolution

revolution3

I know, I managed to miss Victorian last week but it is noted down as something to come back to in the future! This weeks theme is the industrial revolution and I had intended to do a smoggy gradient with a cityscape but I am really behind with uni work so I am having to control how many hours I am spending on my nails this week. I found a cog-wheel pattern on one of the bundle monster plates (BM-203) and thought this would be perfect to symbolize the mechanical power that fueled this revolution.

After using W7 Casa Blanca for stamping yesterday I had a strong urge to use this sparkling black polish again and so it made the base of today’s manicure. As ever it applies beautifully and only needed two thin coats to be fully opaque. I bought my W7s from Nail Polish Direct for £1.95 and they were a bargain but I have been noticing the prices steadily (and seemingly continuously) increasing on quite a few products there at the moment so cannot promise they’re still at that price. If they are then I would whole-heartedly tell you to get some, I have never strongly disliked any of my W7s and a lot of them have really exceeded my expectations. The silver polish that I used for stamping was good old Barrym Foil Effects Silver – I wonder if they will ever release any more foil effects. Do you have any recommendations from other brands?

revolution2I decided only accenting my ring finger and settled on some square shaped studs from the £3.50 nail art wheel that I bought in River Island (other suppliers and stockists are available and I know people recommend the similar studs from Born Pretty Store). They’re supposed to be reminiscent of steel rivets… I applied a topcoat of Color Club and used a dotting tool to get them into position and then added another layer of topcoat to seal them in. I am loving this Color Club Top Coat  at the moment, especially as it doesn’t smear stamping and dries so quick and glossy. No bubbles to report today.

revolution

I will apologise for the condition of my cuticles, I have been slacking on my moisturizing the last couple of days! I think this look ended up looking a little more 1980s futuristic than Victorian Industrial Revolution but there we go, what do you think? Whats your go to manicure design when you’re short on time? Don’t forget to have a look at what the other llama ladies have been up to using the inlinkz!

7 comments on “Llama’s Time Period Challenge: Industrial Revolution

  1. Raux
    May 22, 2013

    Very steampunk!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      May 22, 2013

      I only discovered steampunk recently and some of the artwork and the artifacts are amazing! I actually really like the cog-wheel pattern so will definitely be using it again maybe over psychedelic colours.

  2. Polish Alcoholic
    May 22, 2013

    Awesome!

  3. Mina
    May 22, 2013

    This is amazing! Not just the colours, that are truly very baroque, but the motif is so cool! 😀
    Truly loving these! **

  4. Pingback: Would the world be a better place if the Industrial Revolution never happened? | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
