Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Me and nature don’t get along.

So much for cutting down on my nail hours this week – I sat down to do a simple spring summer inspired manicure combining pink, green and some sort of flower motif, 3.5 hours later and I have tried four different manicures in 9 different polishes. I am not very happy with the end result but I am calling it a night on nail painting as I really should be getting on with writing thesis.

flowers1 flowers2

For these I used BarryM Gelly Pomegranate (which is a raspberry red leaning pink, one coater), BarryM Gelly Watermelon (a blue leaning evergreen green, again one coat) and NYC High Line Green (which is a grassy/appley green, two coats). I stamped on a flower pattern from BM-211 in OPI I Vant To Be A Lone Star (a pale blueish grey with light shimmer) – I was surprised how well this stamped considering the formula is fairly thin.

To make up for this manicure frustration and failure I thought that today I would share with you some random facts about me (hopefully this will go some way to make up for never getting around to doing the blogger award posts too!).

1) I love American Crime/Cop TV shows – The Mentalist, Rizzoli & Isles, Dexter, Rookie Blue (ok, I think this is Canadian but still…), Castle, White Collar, Monk, Bones, to name just a few!

2) I blame this fictional obsession for my thesis subject – I am currently studying the media representation of female killers. Yes, it’s pretty dark and to be honest, I am generally found behind a pillow at the first signs of gore but it’s very interesting. My undergraduate degree was in drama and I have taken a course in scriptwriting since graduating which was amazing!

3) I have two bunnies and I refer to them as my babies… hey, stop judging and look at the cuteness!

Teddy dora TeddyandDora

They live in our dining room and are very spoiled with treats and fuss, toys and even pillows, it was Dora’s first birthday mid April and will be Teddy’s birthday on the 31st of May.

4) I come from a family of gamers – both of my parents raid in a game called World of Warcraft and I know far too much about the game. I’ve recently started following Tabletop on Youtube which is a show about board and card games hosted by Wil Wheaton and think that more people should play games around a table. I am pretty geeky and you know what I’ll throw in a side fact – I am a born and raised trekkie and I am currently re-watching Stargate SG-1.

5) I have the opposite of only child syndrome, I hate being alone but I am lucky to have a wonderful younger sister who puts up with my attention seeking behaviour. She puts up with a lot and looks after me, despite being in Wales for university (she even paid for the new camera when my old one broke… I will be paying her back though, never fear).

6) I am terrified of bees, wasps and other buzzies which makes the outside a dangerous place for me in the summer and possibly explains why most people think I have an aversion to nature. I love wildlife and wildlife documentaries, I am just not a girl who takes excessive pleasure in romping through the countryside miles from anywhere up to my knees in mud and nasties.  I do like the word “romping” though… I feel like I shall embrace “romping” to the shops as a new hobby. I actually went to the zoo in the middle of December for my birthday last year because I am a 23 year old kid and it was what I wanted to do  – I want to go again as soon as possible.

7) I am a shopaholic. I do not drink, I do not smoke, my stress release is shopping. I don’t even care what I am buying – I love food shopping, clothes shopping, homeware shopping… you get the idea. Recently my focus has been on nail polish. I come from a long line of collectors and hoarders which possibly explains how my collection has grown so quickly, although no one else in my little nuclear family really like retail therapy so who knows where that came from.

Ok that felt more like a confessional than interesting facts but I hope you found out something new about me anyway! The blog is only 3 followers away from 100 (not including facebook, pinterest and bloglovin) and we now also have twitter so please stalk PocketMPolishes on there too; I have absolutely no idea what I am doing but I am sure I will figure it out eventually. We’re well over 5000 views and 500 likes in our two months of existance so a big thank you to everyone who keeps up with my ramblings – you keep me going some days.

I will try and come up with something awesome for Friday’s post – please leave me some inspiration in the comments! ❤

6 comments on “Me and nature don’t get along.

  1. katefidemakeupartist
    May 23, 2013

    Teddy trouble how super super cute! I’m with you on the shopping. I love grocery shopping because it has all of the hallmarks of a shopping trip without the guilt. Groceries justify themselves 🙂

  2. Nail Lacquer
    May 24, 2013

    Aww it’s nice to get to know other bloggers better 🙂 Love your bunnies, I used to have one really big one but now I have a hamster… and a dog.

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      May 24, 2013

      Aww thanks, this was my least popular blog all week so it’s nice to know someone enjoyed it. What are your fluffies called?

  3. Mina
    May 24, 2013

    Loved this post and loved getting to you know some more (this might be a lenghty comment, so brace yourself! haha)
    Don’t worry about calling your (ADORABLE) Teddy & Dora your babies, I do too do that to my three kitty cats, along with some other embarrassing moochi-moochi nicknames 😉
    I’m not a geek nor a gamer but I’m a bookworm, my bedside table makes noises from all the weight of the books I put on it and I’m also an anime freak haha – we all have our ‘hobbies’, right? 🙂
    Insects also drive me crazy – and I’m a sucker for National Geographic shows: go figure!
    AND I was more of a shopaholic than I am now because I have bills to pay and all the grown-up nastiness but, boy!, am I with you on that! 😀

    ps. I also get lazy when it comes to doing the blogger award posts and haven’t yet gotten around to do it – shame, shame on me :/

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      May 25, 2013

      Teddy and Dora are embracing their new found stardom and trashed their room in true rockstar style – newspaper and hay everywhere. Good job they have two-legged servants to sort them out.
      Yeh being a grownup definitely effects your shopping mojo but I am not giving up on my fun that easy.
      Long live the book worms 😀 I look forward to reading some more about you in the future!

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
