Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Going wild in the summer heat

tigerbright4… well… ok it’s not exactly heat but I am remaining optimistic about the sunshine. After yesterdays frustrations and fails today I embraced just having fun and not over thinking it. I took the colour scheme from the bottle of perfume that I keep in my hand bag Next Summer Heat which is warm and sweet and lasts all day (for the sake of disclosure I should say that did once work at Next but this was before purchasing this product and I did pay full price so no bias here).

For this manicure I used: P2 Sand Style Illegal, P2 Summer Attack Tangerine Twist, Ciate Sand Dune, Color Club Take The Stage, Konad Special Polish Black and BM-223.

I actually did something unusual midway through this manicure and that was stop and take pictures just encase I screwed up the next step or decided I did not like the final result, so there are a lot of pictures headed your way today: HAPPY FRIDAY, presents for all!

tigerbrightI started out painting a my fingers with Illegal which applies beautifully and is pretty much opaque after one coat, it dries VERY quickly to a rough sandpaper glittery finish. I actually used two coats today as I really wanted a deeper coloured based for my gradiant. I then sponged on P2 Summer Attack Tangerine Twist which like the Sand Style is an amazing product and a very reasonable price, just not currently available in the UK – look out for it though if you do go on holiday to the continental EU (especially Germany), you will not regret it. TT is a yellow based orange just packed with shimmer, I have only very quickly swatched this before on its own and it is pretty sheer but would build up in 3-4 coats. Onto the same piece of sponge I picked up some of my Color Club Take the Stage and lightly sponged the tips of my nails. This is my very first glitter gradiant and I am fairly happy with how it turned out although I think the textured polish would hide a multitude of blending sins. I was a real textured polish skeptic but I am definitely now a convert and these are amazing for gradients!

tigerbright2On my accent fingers (back to my ring and thumb) I used two coats of Ciate Sand Dune which I recieved free with my Marie Claire magazine in April, this is an antiquey gold that is less dense and more shimmery than BarryM Gold Foil. On top I applied two thin layers of Take the Stage which is a medium gold glitter with holographic flakes in a clear base and it’s just so perdy! This was another untried for me and part of the Back Stage Pass Collection that I picked up in TK MAXX for just £7.99 – the application was a lot simpler than the large hexes in Backstage Pass and the results equally eye-catching (in my humble opinion).

You would think all this glittery sunshine coloured goodness would be enough for me but no, I was not finished here! I used BM-223 to add tiger stripes. I was worried this was going to be a step to far but I definitely prefer it to the first look and almost wished all my nails were little tigers now – RAWR. Tiger, tiger burning bright… My hand is just so glitzy (yes, hand although it’s the weekend so Mr Right will be painted to match very shortly). This look is a lot of glitter and I would be very scared if I didn’t know the secret for removing glitter with minimum effort and fuss – I know a lot of the blogosphere knows about this technique but I will share for those of you who don’t.

tigerbright6

THE FOIL METHOD (clingfilm/saran wrap works too) – basically all you do is soak some cotton wool in your choice of remover and secure it to your finger by wrapping in foil/film. This extended contact means the chemicals can really get to work and the wrap also prevents the remover from disappearing off into the air. For heavy glitter and thick polish I would say leave for up to 5 minutes, you will know when your little wrap is ready to remove as there will be no resistance when you twist it off. Make sure you wash your hands and moisturize! This seriously removed all the hassle and fear from glitter application for me even if it does cause me to have a bizarre looking metal claw hand for a few minutes.

tigerbright5

Quick reminder before I toddle off for the weekend the Sally Magpie’s Voucher is still up for grabs – all you have to do is send in your answer to The Tenner Challenge (all the details are available via that page on the menu above). Deadline is Friday 31st and we’ve had some really great answers! Have a great weekend and I’ll see you again on Monday!

P.S. Let me know whether you preferred this with our without the stripes or any other thoughts you have in the comment box below – I read them all and will always do my best to reply. I have a heavy weekend of studying ahead and will need the odd distraction to keep me insane… er… sane. ❤

14 comments on “Going wild in the summer heat

  1. Mina
    May 24, 2013

    I absolutely prefer it with the stripes! That’s what makes the whole look 😉
    Love the animal print ! It gives it that heat bang – I’d totally wear this.
    Whenever I can, I’m also the photos in between nail art type – it’s better to be safe than sorry hahah 😀

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      May 24, 2013

      That is the ultimate compliment – I am glad you like it! I hope you have something nice planned for the weekend 🙂

      • Mina
        May 24, 2013

        I have a girlfriend’s birthday dinner+night-out and a lovely romantic Sunday planned with BF.
        Will be sending happy thoughts your way though 😉 Hope your studying goes easy breezy really! :*

      • pocketmoneypolishes
        May 25, 2013

        Thanks lovely – have a wonderful weekend 😀

  2. Craftynail
    May 24, 2013

    With!

  3. Kitsu
    May 24, 2013

    I like it both ways! Is it weird that I think the tiger stripes actually make the look more toned down? Maybe because it’s covering up some of the glitter.

  4. Nail Lacquer
    May 25, 2013

    I prefer the first version, simple but stunning! Have fun studying 🙂

  5. oh wow! i LOVE the stripes!

  6. Kimberlee
    May 29, 2013

    Wow fabulous nails!

  7. Pingback: Top Ten Polishes | Pocket Money Polishes

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
