Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Sunshine makes me feel bright!

I have been trapped inside all weekend battling with thesis and guess what, there is still so much to do so over the next two days so I will be leaving you in the capable hands of two guest bloggers. I have been really stressed out today and I have to say doing my nails this evening/the early hours of this morning has been serious therapy and I have managed to really chill out and cheer up. I had no idea what I was going to do, I just looked at the stash and picked out some colours and just went for it without thinking too much.

I started with a base of Sally Hansen’s Hard as Nails as my nails have been a little bit flimsy recently and my anxious desire to chew on them occasionally caught me out when I wasn’t paying attention. I then added a base of Natural Collections White – just a thin one, as I was about to cover it all up.

tyedyeflowers6This was the crew deployed for this manicure (excluding Natural Collection White), that’s right – every polish is from a different brand. So we have: NYC Lexington Yellow, OPI LaPaz-itively Hot, China Glaze Too Yacht To Handle, Color Show Urban Coral, Rimmel Lycra Pro Ultra Violet and Color Club Top Coat.

tyedyeflowers5I cut up a makeup sponge into small pieces and using tweezers added the colours to my nails one colour at a time (I think I started with purple). The white helps to make all of these colours opaque and the brightness really shine through and “POP”.

I did have a little bit of sponge crumble (which you can see on my middle finger) but it wasn’t too major. Quick shout out to Mina from Cubbiful who takes pictures of the in between stages of her work (and also does stunning and colourful designs every day). This picture is partially for her  and partially in case I really cocked up the next step, which luckily I didn’t so moving on…

Using BM-16 and Natural Collection White to add an over-lay of flowers to this design – this is from the smaller designs that Bundle Monster used to do which are slightly too narrow for my thumb nail which caused me to smudge this nail but I am feeling laid back so I don’t mind too much.

tyedyeflowers3So here is my tye-dye neon flower power mani after a bit of stamping and a nice dose of Color Club Top Coat – I will stop going on about it soon but it is the very first topcoat I have ever completely gotten on with. I should say that I added a layer of TC before stamping just to even the surface and blend the colours, sorry forgot to mention that earlier. This is just so summery – I feel ready to face the stack of books and paperwork all over tomorrow. 

tyedyeflower2

The tidy up was a little rushed as it was coming up for 2am when I finished this design but hey, I got a post done and I am happy with the mani, so I hope you can forgive me.

tyedyeflowers

I shall be back on Thursday –  make sure you come and see the stunning post from Denise from Dizzy Little Digits tomorrow! 

Quick reminder that The Tenner Challenge is still on and there are some great answers coming through and being added to that page – the chance to be entered into the prize draw to win a £10 Sally Magpie‘s Voucher ends at midnight (UK time) on the 30th so that the winner can be announced on Friday 31st. 

12 comments on “Sunshine makes me feel bright!

  1. dizzylittledigits
    May 27, 2013

    Thanks for posting the unstamped version. I never seem to take a photo of my in between steps, but maybe I will for something like this!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      May 27, 2013

      I think I will be doing it more 🙂 I did consider not stamping at all because I quite liked the unstamped finish but you know me, can’t leave things alone.

  2. Mina
    May 27, 2013

    Awwww. .. thank you so much for sharing the blog love 🙂 ❤
    And yey for inbetweeners, 'cause I really enjoyed your watercolourish background!
    And can you believe I was actually considering doing it yesterday also? I just ended up thinking: 'nah, colour block is faster and a 'safer' choice' – hahah
    But now I'm seeing yours and thinking 'damn, should have gone with watercolour instead!' – it's a great look! 🙂
    The stamping over it made for an excellent, bright and sunny mani **

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      May 27, 2013

      Loved your colour blocking which weirdly was an option I considered before I went with this sponged water colour thing. We’re like one mind.

  3. Kitsu
    May 28, 2013

    This is so cute! I love the flowers where you can see bits of multiple colors peeping through.

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      May 28, 2013

      I have been staring at them all day (which has not been conducive to getting lots of writing done…ooops)

      • Kitsu
        May 28, 2013

        Haha I do that too! I can’t wear glitter polish during finals week, otherwise it distracts me during the exams.

  4. Megan
    May 31, 2013

    Wow ladies this is amazing!! 🙂

  5. Pingback: Monkey See, Monkey Do Mondays – Pocket Money Polishes Flower Mani

  6. Pingback: Bright Summery Nails! | Sparkle Bubble

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
