Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

All that sparkles is not gold, it’s glequins!

My Born Pretty Store glequins finally arrived! I have been impatiently waiting for them for 3.5 weeks but to be honest since the prices are so great, it’s free delivery and comes all the way from Hong Kong, I don’t mind too much.

glequin4

For those not in the know, “glequin” was a term coined by Sammy of Nailasaurus to describe these medium sized glitters. The ones I have are all slightly duochromey/iridescent and sparkle like magic. I may have slightly colour enhanced this picture but they really are this beautiful. I have 12 different colours and after today’s experimentation I can safely say they’re going to last me a very long time. I think I paid just over £4 for these and I used one of the other bloggers Born Pretty Discount codes to get a bonus 10% off – well worth doing as it saves you money and also earns the bloggers points to put towards their future purchases (at least, I think that is how it works). I don’t have my own discount code yet, but I will do my best to get one so you don’t have to hunt around to find a code in the future.

glequin5

On to the nail art. Glequins are tricky customers to work with as they’re very small and delicate but with a bit of patience, some clear nail polish and a toothpick/manicure stick/dotting tool/pin you can eventually arrange them on your nail in some very pretty patterns. Make sure you use a slower drying topcoat because this does take a little while to get the hang of and since this is what is adhering the glitter to your nail you need it nice and tacky while you work. My application as you can see is very far from perfect but I am in love with these little bits of shiney, despite the slightly faffy technique needed to get them in the right place (you pretty much have to get it right first time).

glequin1

I used a base colour of W7 Sheer Peach (3 thin coats) and Natural Collection White, onto my accent fingers I stamped a dotty pattern from BM-209 in P2 Summer Attack Tangerine Twist mainly to use as a guide for placement. I went with the red sequins which sparkle blue/purple and green – I thought glitters were a nightmare to focus and take pictures of but these glequins were a whole new ball game. I’m sorry that these pictures really don’t do this mani justice but I hope they give you a good idea at least. I have no doubt in my mind that these will be appearing again in the future though as they’re just too twinkly in my basket of nail art goodies to ignore! Maybe I should have taken a short movie so you could see the glistening in action. I forgot to mention: these glitters do not bleed or disintegrate and also lie nice and flat with a thin layer of topcoat.

glequin2

glequin3

The Tenner Challenge is now officially over and I am in the process of contacting the winner – I want to thank everyone for their answers and ideas. I hope to keep building on this page of advice so let me know if you have any top tips to add. Since I haven’t been around much this week and I am behind on my challenges I am going to try and get another post up either today or tomorrow so keep your eyes peeled.

What nail item do you think is worth waiting for? These definitely were for me. What’s the longest you’ve ever had to wait for goodies? Any glequin tips?!?

16 comments on “All that sparkles is not gold, it’s glequins!

  1. dizzylittledigits
    May 31, 2013

    Nice! I was gonna suggest one of these for that thing we talked about the other night 😉

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      May 31, 2013

      funnily enough I did think about mentioning that thing we talked about… will definitely need to do this again!

  2. Mandy
    May 31, 2013

    Ooo, love the pattern on the accent nail! x

  3. Brijit Elouise
    May 31, 2013

    Beautiful ! I love the wavy lines between the glequins 🙂

  4. Julie
    May 31, 2013

    This mani is fab! I’ve been dying to try glequins for a while now…next time I order from Born Pretty I’ll be tossing some of these in my cart!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      May 31, 2013

      You’ll love them! They come in all sorts of shapes now too – diamonds, round ones… SO MANY TEMPTING SPARKLES. I really want to try some flakies next 😀

  5. Craftynail
    June 1, 2013

    I NEED GLEQUINS!!! Wonder if craft stores carry these?

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      June 1, 2013

      I am fairly sure that someone said that they found them in their local art supply store so it might be worth having a look. Any craft glitter should work hypothetically, as long as you’re not submerging it in nail polish!

  6. Char
    June 1, 2013

    These are so pretty! must get myself some 🙂

  7. Jewelyz
    June 2, 2013

    Oh wow, I really like your ringfinger 🙂

  8. Pingback: Multi-tasking Monday: Combining colours and challenges | Pocket Money Polishes

  9. luv4beautyandnailart
    June 7, 2013

    Wow, I like it so so much!

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on May 31, 2013 by in Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
