Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Sunny Sunday Study

Having made it through the deadline I have been taking it very easy this weekend but I have still been studying – just something a little different from normal. I know I promised some extra nail art this weekend but I hope this post explains why there hasn’t been any!

I am very lucky to be friends with the ridiculously talented nail artist Michelle from (Break rules, not nails) and her work really inspires me and she really pushes me to try things and work at my art. Michelle uses a lot of mixed media on her nails and has really emphasized to me how many doors different resources can open up. There has been a massive trend lately to paint “watercolour nails” which involves the watering down of our pigmented polish with acetone to recreate the effect of watercolours. This (and Michelle) made me think: why don’t I just get some water colours? There are plenty out there for pocket money prices!

I did treat myself to slightly more expensive tinned set (£7.99), a set of four brushes (£6.99) although I am sure my nail art brushes would have been up to the task, and a watercolour pad (£5.99). Yes, this was a bit of a splurge but these supplies should last a fairly long time and hey, it’s the start of June, so it’s ok! Rather than set to work straight onto my nails I have been trying out painting on paper (for the first time since school when I had zero interest in art). I spent most of yesterday watching youtube tutorials and getting plenty of hints and tips – I am definitely a look before you leap kind of girl. Ross Barbera does some incredible stuff so I would definitely recommend his videos (although he makes it look SO much easier than it is!).

So, I thought I would share with you what I have created so far (nope, it’s still not finished)! I honestly do not draw or paint outside of what is required for my teeny tiny nails but this was a very therapeutic evening for me anyway. Pictures were taken on my blackberry in the lounge but I hope you can see!

THIS was my inspiration picture.

PicMonkey Collage1

PicMonkey Collage2

As you can see I have kind of started making it up as a go along but I have been learning that if you make a mistake in watercolour it is surprisingly easy to fix! As you can see from the picture below I am slowly fixing the flower on the far right to remove some of the excess blue that was making the petal bulge and the excess orange from the center.

IMG00235-20130602-1555The thing I have learnt that I really want to apply to nail art is the use of layers to build up texture and colours – this has definitely inspired me for some multi-stamping. Right, I am off to finish up my flowers and then I should probably crack on with next weeks posts. What have you been up to this weekend? Have any other art forms inspired your nail art?

8 comments on “Sunny Sunday Study

  1. Rajani
    June 2, 2013

    superb art!

  2. Mina
    June 2, 2013

    Pshhhh! So you can actually paint!
    Sooooo jealous right now 😛
    And would love to see this beauty on your nails – it’d make my jaw drop even more! 😀

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      June 2, 2013

      I wouldn’t go that far Mina! I will definitely try and do something similar on my nails soon though 😀

  3. Lisa N.
    June 3, 2013

    Wow what an awesome piece of art 🙂

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      June 3, 2013

      Thank you, you’re too kind! I have A LOT still to learn but it was really enjoyable (even if it looks nothing like the original picture).

  4. Char
    June 4, 2013

    It looks really great! I’ve never dared to try painting properly, which is silly because my mum is an amazing painter (annmariebone.com). I might actually sit down and do this one day too 🙂 xx

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      June 4, 2013

      I found it very peaceful and normally I find art can be quite frustrating when it isn’t perfect. You have no excuse for not giving it a go, your mum is incredible!

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on June 2, 2013 by in Tools and tagged , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
