Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Multi-tasking Monday: Combining colours and challenges

dotty4 copy

So last week I fell behind with all of the challenges I love to take part in so today in an effort to catch up I am combining last week’s She Who Does Nail Art Challenges theme with this weeks: 1950s meets colours I wouldn’t normally use together.  I chose brown and mint in this case George Cackle  and Rimmel Pro Lycra Peppermint.  The only time I can think of these two colours being together are mint chocolate ice-cream  and the 1950s.

dotty3 copyTo combine these colours and add that vintage effect I went for some quick and easy polka dots using BM-19 (from the narrower early collection) in Natural Collection White. No, I don’t think I could make it through a nail art week without using white. Maybe that should be a challenge! Anyway, I thought these quick and easy dots looked a little dull and decided to add iridescent white glequins to the accent nail (link to my earlier blog post about glequins at the bottom of this post) – the idea being that they would just now and again catch the light. Honestly, they look like mermaid scales and magic and, aside from the fact they were pretty much invisible to the naked eye when applying them, I already think my glequin skills are improving.

My camera skills on the other hand… I don’t know what has changed but all of my pictures lately have been impossible, blurry or the wrong colour… GRRR. I think I will be investing in some better lighting soon but in the mean time I hope these give you an idea!  I have been playing with an online picture editing website called ‘Picmonkey‘ which actually does a really nice job of basic editing and has some really cool tinting and framing features (it is also far less intimidating than photoshop after a long day). The only adjustment to these pictures not made using the website is the addition of the P.M.P. watermark – although there is a text feature there. What do you think of the rounded corners? Any tips for photographing iridescents/holos?

Dotty1 copy

The twinkle from the glitters are really quite vivid in green and pink when the light hits them JUST right.  I did have some small bubbles in my top coat today but this is probably because I laid it on a little thick trying not to disturb the very carefully placed sparkles. If you do find you’re getting bubbles in your polish application this is probably the cause – use thinner layers and leave a longer drying time in between. Also if you do shake vigorously make sure you give your polish a little settling time so the air bubbles can float up and out.

Does my thumb look fat in this? Hopefully the nail will grow back quickly because it looks like a rather bulbous intruder lately. I am also going to step up my moisturising and strengthening routine as I think the weather, stress and continuous painting are taking their toll on my digits. What is your go to miracle worker for your nails? I hope you’re all having a good start to your week!

I have included the inlinkz for both this weeks and last weeks challenges so you can have a good browse of what everyone else has been up to!

<!– end InLinkz script –

9 comments on “Multi-tasking Monday: Combining colours and challenges

  1. Mina
    June 3, 2013

    Mmmmm….chocomint icecream 😀
    And you’re right, the polka dots do make for a lovely vintage feel! 😉 Awesome!
    Love the rounded corners and the watermark and I think the best for holos really is a bit of sunshine real light 😉

  2. Erin Pelletier
    June 3, 2013

    So I sit down this morning with my coffee to read my blogs after the kids are off to school and yours is the first I read. I love the color combinations and design, and the way you speak to your readers is amazing but I have to say what killed it for me was your comment about your thumb! I almost fell off my couch laughing! Great way to start the week! Thank you! 🙂

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      June 3, 2013

      Awww thank you Erin! That really means a lot to me 😀 ❤ you can come back again!

  3. Lisa N.
    June 3, 2013

    I love polka dot manicures and yours is so cute! Love the colors you used for it too 🙂

  4. Megan
    June 4, 2013

    Awesome mani’s as usual, I think the photos look perfect 🙂 As you know already, I love your nail art so I’ve nominated you ladies for the Sunshine Award, I’m not sure if you’ve been nominated already but if you have it’s fine! Here’s the link anyway http://bit.ly/13CpSlD 🙂 x

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      June 4, 2013

      Thanks Megan!!! I will try and get around to this award post soon 😀

      • Megan
        June 4, 2013

        You’re more than welcome! No worries take your time 😄

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on June 3, 2013 by in Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
