Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Llama’s Time Period Challenge: 1950s

One for the money, two for the show, three to get polished… ok I don’t know where I was going to go with that but today on Llama’s Time Period Challenge we’re visiting the 1950s, I haven’t left since Monday it would seem.

I have gone for something very different today with bright primary colour blocking a little bit of stamping and a little bit of vodka transfer (yes I love that technique for achieving my concepts in this challenge).

elvis1 copy

So starting with the whole look all together we have NYC Lexington Yellow which for some unknown reason decided it wanted to be a textured polish today, BarryM Gelly Pomegranate yay for one coaters and BarryM Cyan Blue also only needing one coat today.

Who knows what the white is? Well done, yes, it’s Natural Collection White two coats. Now the stamping was done using Konad Special Polish Black and the plate from a set I was given for xmas numbered M-22. I love how well the superfine lines came out!

elvis2 copyOnto Elvis – I found a nice black and white image on google, scaled it down in Microsoft Word and printed it out. Then using a vodka soaked cotton wool ball I applied the image onto my nail. As you can see lots of the details came across and this literally takes seconds to do! I smudged him a little with topcoat but you can’t really see in real life. So yeh, little king hanging out on my ring finger at the moment.

elvis3 copy

Not really much more to be said about this manicure really other than to make my excuses about the state of my cuticles. I love how bright it turned out and it is a little pop-art too I suppose. I am ready to listen to some rock’n’roll in the summer sunshine! If you haven’t given the vodka technique a try you definitely should – no need to fork out for expensive decals!

Pocket Money Polishes has left the building but has just remembered to include the inlinkz so you can check out what everyone else has been up to this week!

15 comments on “Llama’s Time Period Challenge: 1950s

  1. breakrulesnotnails
    June 5, 2013

    Awesome Charlie, you crack me up!!! Love the Elvis transfer.

  2. Ah, that is so cool! ELVIS ON YOUR FINGER!

  3. fairy666tale
    June 5, 2013

    That looks awesome!

  4. Wow, even the jail cell bars, clever!

  5. HeatherDalgarno
    June 5, 2013

    that’s AWESOME! Do you just use regular printer paper or do you have special decal paper? I’d love to try this technique 🙂

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      June 5, 2013

      Regular printer paper 🙂 I might try and make a tutorial at some stage but basically print off your image, cut it to size and place face down on your nail. Then apply a vodka soaked cotton wool ball to the back for about 30seconds to a minute, you can peek under to see how it is doing 🙂

  6. Lisa N.
    June 5, 2013

    What a nice manicure!

  7. Kelly Maree
    June 7, 2013

    Love the Elvis image, what a cool manicure!

  8. Char
    June 10, 2013

    Great mani 😀 x

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
