Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Don’t forget to feed your hands!

Recently I have been complaining a lot about the condition of my hands and rather than to just keep going on for no reason I decided to do a little bit of consumer testing to find out what works (for me anyway). Working on my pocket money budget of £5, I decided to go with the cheapest option that has been recommended to me: Hand Food by Soap&Glory.

1handfood

I got my 50ml bottle for £2.50 in Boots at it is the perfect size for even my relatively small bags.  Soap&Glory is made in the UK which I think is great – horray for British goodies.The directions on the back of the bottle read:

Apply Hand Food Hand Cream as often as you want to soften, smooth and soothe dry, chapped or otherwise hampered hands.

 

I have been using this cream a couple of times a day (whenever I happen to remember about it) and focusing my efforts of the areas around my nails. It absorbs in quickly leaving my fingers feeling soft and moiturized and most importantly without any obscene levels of oily residue (which matches it’s claim of being ‘non-greasy’). The key ingredients listed on the front of the bottle are shea butter, macadamia oil and marshmallow which combine in a lightly sweet but clean scented product. Whilst it has not performed miracles it definitely has worked to re-hydrate my finger tips and I really like using it so this is a big win for me! I think this is probably the first Soap&Glory product I have tried and whilst it isn’t the cheapest brand per volume it is affordable as a treat and a little is going a long way.

tresemmeNow you may or may not remember that I have been testing out a new conditioning treatment from Tresemme for Bzzagent, I had failed on the picture front (again) but I am happy to report that my fried ends are feeling softer and healthier. It is not a cure for evils and yep the split ends are still there but on the whole my hair is looking healthier in these much abused portions. I basically need a good haircut and I will be all set. I think this is a good conditioning treatment as they go but at the end of the day you can’t magically repair hair so some of the product claims do annoy me. I’m going to mention now that this product specifies  it is to be used on lengths and not roots and therefore my next few comments aren’t in direct relation!

I have been noticing a bit of product build up in my hair which is beginning to effect my scalp and roots so to combat this I have decided to test out the bicarbonate of soda combo hair cleaning technique/recipe that has been circulating the blogosphere and the internet. I shall write up all the details and report back – have any of you lovely readers tried this? Any tips?

1gumdropsFinally, I had some really exciting nail mail today – from America via Dublin, the lovely Denise from Dizzy Little Digits has brought me some Julie G Gumdrops (I had some amazing additional surprises too but I’d like to save them for a separate post!).  These Gumdrops are the American drugstore brands answer to the pricier matte textured glitter trends seen in OPI and Zoya –  like the P2 Sand Style polishes I so adore from Germany. These have only just arrived so I have not had time to swatch them but I’ve done a couple of quick bottle shots for you! There are six in the collection  in total but I chose my three favourites (lovely Denise went on a treasure hunt for me). From left to right I have: Bubblegum Fizz, Crushed Candy and Rock Candy. I am particularly excited about Rock Candy which I have not seen anything even close to. I think it is safe to say that despite my initial skepticism I am enjoying this textured trend, just a shame I haven’t found a British texture that I love yet. I shall leave you with a link to a great textured polish comparison post by The PolishAholic which does include some JulieG swatches. Big hugs and thank yous to Denise! Hope you’re all having a wonderful week! Anything lovely been delivered to you by the postman lately? Let me know with a comment below!

6 comments on “Don’t forget to feed your hands!

  1. ourpaintedworld
    June 18, 2013

    I’ve nominated you for The Liebster Award! You can see more about it on my blog! http://ourpaintedworld.wordpress.com/2013/06/18/blog-awards/

  2. Lisa N.
    June 18, 2013

    This was fun to read! Nice items you got and tried out 🙂

  3. Kitsu
    June 18, 2013

    Can’t wait to see how the Gumdrops look!
    Have you ever tried Udder Cream? I don’t know if it’s sold outside of the US, but it’s my favorite hand cream, and it’s only like $4 for a 10 oz jar 😀

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      June 18, 2013

      I want it just for the name!! Not heard of it before but will have to keep an eye out 😀

  4. TrineMarie
    June 21, 2013

    I LOVE the gumdrop polishes 😀 All 6 of them.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on June 18, 2013 by in Tools and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
