Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Denise the Lemming Slayer!

Previously on PMP….

I received some amazing nail mail including some surprise goodies from the wonderful Denise of Dizzy Little Digits. Not only did I get my 3 Julie G Gumdrops but I also got three additional surprise polishes! I was meant to be doing Llama Time Period Challenge for today but I just couldn’t wait to get one of these beauties on to my nails, don’t worry – tomorrow we will be headed for the 1970s flared jeans and platform shoes at the ready!

What were these amazing surprise polishes you ask? Well, let me tell you or rather… SHOW YOU!

essiepennytalk3

 

I have never used any of these brands before although they are of course super popular in the blogosphere! I have been lucky enough to receive: Pure Ice Over You which is all kinds of glittery magic, Zoya Thandie which is a bright orangey coral from this years summer collection and the biggest joy of them all Essie Penny Talk. 

I am not someone who craves after particular polishes often but Penny Talk is a polish I have coveted since I started blogging. Denise tore the head off my ultimate lemming by sending this polish and I cannot put into words how delighted, grateful and ecstatic I was to get my parcel with so many thoughtful and wonderful gifts. Denise is a prime example of how great the blogging community is – not because of how literally giving she is but how generous she is with her energy and time, not to mention just how fun she is to chat to. We’ve only been properly talking for a short time but I definitely consider her a very good friend. I am very proud to be apart of this community. Ok, enough soppyness… onto polish!

essiepennytalk1

 

Penny Talk is a beautiful rosey gold – it looks like a shiney new penny. My pictures don’t quite capture the pink tint but it is there and it is so pretty. As with most metalics it needs a bit of thoughtful application to minimise showing brush strokes and imperfections in your nails; knowing this ahead of time I gave my nails a thorough buffing and a shiney thick base coat. I’m going to be completely honest – I don’t even notice the finish because this polish is just GORGEOUS. I did attempt to top-coat one of my fingers with my normal Color Club Top Coat but it didn’t seem to agree with the polish so here you see the polish with no topper. This is just one regular coat and it is completely opaque.

 

essiepennytalk2

Ok this picture isn’t even close to colour accurate but as you can see I couldn’t leave things alone and added a couple of floral stamps to my favourite accent fingers. I wouldn’t want to add any more to the manicure and to be honest it was utterly gorgeous without the additions of the flourishes but there we go. I just can’t stop looking at my hand I cannot believe I finally own this polish. I know that holos are the biggest craze of late and metalics are now a little old hat but you know what, I really don’t care. This polish has enough flash to catch your eye but is also subtly beautiful. Do you get the impression I like this polish? Good.

Like the fickle woman I am, I have a feeling that there will be a new lemming in my future but until that moment I am glad to say that I am happily in love and have not been let down with the reality of this polish. I am looking forward to trying out the other two; Thandie looks amazing in the swatches I have seen – a perfect colour for the summer, juicy and bright. I am fairly certain I can say that this is the best nail mail I have ever had!

Whats the best surprise gift you’ve ever been given? What is your ultimate lemming? Have you ever been disappointed with a polish you’ve lusted after? Let me know with a comment below!

12 comments on “Denise the Lemming Slayer!

  1. Cazzy Durcan
    June 19, 2013

    Such a pretty polish! And congrats on getting a lemming! It must be a great feeling lol. I don’t have many – Glitzology Diet Cokehead is probably the polish I want the most that isn’t readily available.

    Does Penny Talk stamp? It looks like it might do rather well!

  2. Mina
    June 19, 2013

    Love the delicacy of this mani! One can never go wrong with Black & Gold, right?
    This is such an elegant mani and this golden tone goes great with your skin! I find good-combining-with-your-skin golds to be so hard to find, don’t you?! 😉

  3. thebubblybrunette
    June 19, 2013

    Penny Talk is one of my favorites! Good choice 😉 My biggest lemming was definitely Zoya’s Zuza, which didn’t disappoint me!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      June 19, 2013

      😀 That looks like a stunning polish! I try not to spend too long looking at Zoyas cause they’re so pricey but they are so perdy lol

      • thebubblybrunette
        June 19, 2013

        I hate that! It seems like the best polishes are sometimes the most expensive lol

  4. Lisa N.
    June 19, 2013

    Great colors 🙂

  5. dizzylittledigits
    June 19, 2013

    Aw, you give me too much credit. I may have gotten more joy out of your excitement at receiving than you actually did 🙂

  6. Pingback: Not a challenge post… | Pocket Money Polishes

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on June 19, 2013 by in Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
