Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Llama Time Period Challenge: 1970s

Is is bad that I spent forever trying to think of something that happened in the 70s? Eeesh. Luckily I had a sudden brainwave regarding cinema. So many great movies came out in the 1970s – The Godfather, Clockwork Orange, Star Wars, Live and Let Die, Smokey and the Bandit, The Rescuers, Rocky Horror Picture Show, Taxi Driver, Rocky…

Now my first instinct was to do a Star Wars mani but I couldn’t think of anything very exciting to do so whilst I was scrolling through I found another 1970s classic movie that I thought would be perfect not only for this challenge, but also for the summer – especially when the weather is so nice and everyone is heading to the beach. 

nr… nr….Nr… Nr… NR… NR

1jaws3

JAWS! Now I must confess I don’t think I have ever watched this movie all the way through but I have been on the ride/experience at Universal Orlando so I think that should count for something… Lots of nail polish used in this mani but I will try and remember them all.

1jaws2For my sea fade I used OPI Suzi Says Feng Shui (the darkest blue) blended into W7 Sheer Blue (which is a baby blue) and a sponging of W7 Space Dust for a bit of glittery fun – all applied over white with a hunk of makeup sponge. My thumb is Natural Collection White with lettering in W7 Pillarbox Red the smudging was intentional as I was going for the gore factor although it didn’t actually run as much as I would have liked. I allowed the red polish to thicken and then using a thin brush painted on the lettering – I find writing really tricky with a paint brush but I think it is readable so that’s the main thing.

Now for Jaws, himself, I started with a white base and applied an oval in Rimmel Grey Matter, I then added another smaller oval in a mix of white and grey. The black eyes were applied with a dotting tool and the mouth is just a half crescent with dotting tool white teeth. Once this was all dry I carefully sponged the remaining white with some Suzi Says Feng Shui. I could have painted onto blue but really wanted the shark to pop so did it this way instead.

1jawsTotal time taken: 30 minutes and no, I couldn’t do this complete design on both hands but I do think the fade is very pretty. The clean up on the blue was nice and easy – no staining to report (huzzah). Time to go and apply some more moisturiser me thinks.

And that’s all folks! Perhaps not the first thing that comes to everyones mind when thinking about the 1970s but there was some amazing cinema and I would take a movie over disco music most days of the week (sorry). Although, can’t say no to some old school hard rock or a cheeky bit of ABBA.

Please check out what the other ladies have been up to with the inlinkz froggie below!

15 comments on “Llama Time Period Challenge: 1970s

  1. michelle
    June 20, 2013

    Ummm…I think we’re gonna need a bigger boat…(awesome mani!)

  2. Pingback: Jaws, 1975 | Always a Reason to Party

  3. Mina
    June 20, 2013

    ok… fan time now: not only did I see the movie (more than once) but i also read the book AND I’m a shark fan! 😀
    as such… all I can say about your mani is that … I LOVE IT! 😀
    And yey for ABBA as well 😉

  4. Rellekins (@Rellekins)
    June 20, 2013

    Great idea for the theme, it looks fantastic!

  5. Elise G
    June 20, 2013

    Love this! I would have been tempted to just do a “disco” themed nail; that’s the first thing that pops into my mind when I think of the 1970’s.

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      June 20, 2013

      You know me, I like to mix it up and try and be different (for better or for worse).

  6. Lisa N.
    June 20, 2013

    The shark nail is awesome!

  7. Nail Luxxe
    June 20, 2013

    Awesome design, even if old sharky there is freaking me out a bit. That’s how good you are! 😀 I have news: I’ve nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award! You know I’ve got mad love for PMP! 😀 (You can find more info on the award here: http://wp.me/p2Ry8d-JE) NL xoxo

  8. Cazzy Durcan
    June 20, 2013

    This is so brilliant. Like, epically (?) brilliant!

  9. TrineMarie
    June 21, 2013

    Wow, that shark is great! 🙂

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
