Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

SO after the dragon arrived…

I was going to do something completely different for today’s post but then A England Princess Sabra turned up in the post and I just couldn’t resist testing it out. So since we had the dragon concept yesterday and I have a polish named after the princess sacrifice I decided to add a few jewels to represent the dragon’s hoard. 

princess2 This is my first A England polish and it is currently the gem of the month on the website meaning it was just £6 (with free postage) rather than the RRP of £9 (bottles are 12ml). The  A England website describes this polish as ‘a regal olive green’ – to my eyes it is an olive leaning grey and it has an amazing holographic shimmer which naturally my camera didn’t want to fully capture.  The formula on this was fairly good to work with and these pictures show two easy coats. I did find that the finish was slighty dull so added a coat of topcoat for extra ooomph! One thing I will say is that this polish is particularly strong smelling and I am fairly immune to the chemical fragrance of polish now – it wasn’t unbearable but definitely noticeable. I think this brand definitely makes a nice treat and I love the mythical inspiration behind these polishes, I am not sure I will be rushing to buy the entire collection though but indulging in the polish of the month seems less naughty.

For my ‘jewels’ I dabbed on some of Models Own Dancing Queen which definitely achieved the look I was after BUT I completely forgot how bad the formula of the glitter base is – it is super thick and goopy which really delays the drying time and also can make your nail a little bit bulky. I kept the accent to just my ring finger for this reason but the holographic light blue shards, gold, emerald and blue hexes really did shine.

princess1

I am not feeling very nail arty this week but I think I am just a bit distracted thinking about the launch on Monday (there have been some lovely swatches and reviews appearing this week , I am posting the links on the retail page). I cannot for the life of me think of something good for the 1980s theme over at Llama this week. I know there are 1000s of things I could do but none of the ideas are really grabbing me. Have you got a good one I can steal? I did have some good news – my sister passed her degree with a 2:1 and I cannot wait for her to be back home on Friday!!

Apologies for two green manis in a row – I’ll try and mix things up for the last post of the week, maybe I will round off our little George and the Dragon tribute that this week has turned into. Have you tried A England – what do you think? Do you have a favourite? If you could turn a story into a collection of nail polish what would it be?

4 comments on “SO after the dragon arrived…

  1. eklinman
    June 27, 2013

    The exact same thing happens to me whenever I get an exciting polish in the mail…”oh I want to do X” “new polish? MUST USE THAT INSTEAD”

  2. Lisa N.
    June 27, 2013

    Really like your accent nail! Pretty combo 🙂

  3. nailtrixneriah
    June 28, 2013

    Reblogged this on nailtrix.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
