Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Arty Sunday

Hello lovelies!

Ok so it’s just not possible for me to make this feature EVERY Sunday but I will be posting whenever I have something to share with you! I have been busy this week prepping for launch which is tomorrow!!!!!!! I am always insanely excited and nervous when it comes to the indie polish side of things.

Great swatch and review out today – hot off the press! There are only 5 bottles of each going on sale tomorrow and I did sell out of 2 of the shades from the last collection in less than a week, so if you want one – get it! πŸ˜€ Ok, I’ll stop being a crazy saleswoman now.

So I do have some art to share with you today (woop woop)

img002 (663x1000)

I decided I wanted to have a go at painting people – how much harder than birds can they be? Turns out they’re very hard. To get into the swing I thought I should do some sketches and try and get the hang of shapes and stuff – it is A LOT easier to draw people if you don’t think of them as people and just think of things as shapes. I found that the nose didn’t look like a nose until I started thinking of it in terms of triangles and curves.

As you may or may not know, I love crime shows, so this is based on a shot of McNally (fromΒ Rookie Blue) aiming her gun at someone. I made the rookie (pun alert) mistake of starting to doodle on lined paper so apologies for that. I have darkened the lines of the sketch so you can see them – they are a lot fainter in real life. So yeh, that’s what I have been up to.

 

Have you tried anything arty lately? Have you got any tips for me? Leave me a comment and let me know! Happy Sunday everyone – I hope you’re all chilling out. Post may be a little bit late tomorrow but I will be around!

7 comments on “Arty Sunday

  1. Brijit Elouise
    June 30, 2013

    Anatomy is my tip – I can’t draw people without starting with a basic skeleton, yours is already pretty good though!

    The hardest thing is getting the 3D shapes down to 2D without losing depth πŸ™‚

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      June 30, 2013

      I think it’s easier drawing from a static 2D picture and would definitely need to do skeleton sketches for live drawing.
      Are we going to get to see a Brijit original soon? πŸ˜€ Also, replied to your email chica – let me know!!

      • Brijit Elouise
        June 30, 2013

        Oh, none of them are worth sharing πŸ™‚
        Actually, if I’m drawing from a static picture, I do the skeleton thing anyway – it helps me to keep everything proportional

        Yes, I’ll reply to your email, sorry darling, things are so busy at the moment, but I haven’t forgotten our plans to take over the world !

  2. Lisa N.
    June 30, 2013

    I used to draw a lot when I was younger but with work right now I’ve been too busy to do so. Your art work is really nice too!

  3. Char
    June 30, 2013

    Brilliant sketch! I draw too but haven’t for a while! I find I can only copy from photos though, but my mum says that she used to be the same but after lots of practice you can just do it from imagination. It’s therapeutic isn’t it xx

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      July 1, 2013

      Yeh definitely. Maybe your mum should do a guest post for my blog for one of the Sundays πŸ˜€

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on June 30, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
