Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Nail Care with So You Beauty

Hello Lovelies – I’ve had a lot of requests since I started the blog to talk about nail care but since I am far from the best example I thought I would contact an expert (who happens to be a good friend). Luckily for me she agreed to put together a post about her routine, she also included some lovely bonus nail art with My Girl (from the original Pocket Money Polishes’ Glitter Babies collection). 

Hi, I’m Char from soyoubeauty.com and I’m so excited to be doing my first ever guest post and honoured that Charlie asked me 🙂 I’ve decided to show you both some nail care tips and a bit of nail art below too (using the wonderful PMP My Girl). First of all I’ll show you my essentials for my nail care routine.

1. Hand cream is a must! I am not fussy with my hand cream, but I do personally like nice thick cream.  I carry some around with me when I leave the house and put it on whenever I feel I need it.
2. Oil! Now before I started taking care of my nails, I didn’t used to use oil at all.  My nails have always been strong but they’d grow long and then break really low.  This is because they were brittle.  I now drown my nails, cuticles and free edge in oil before I go to bed every night.  I’ve got a photo below showing you how I use the brush to apply my oil.  It’s great for pushing back cuticles too! If you keep them moisturised enough you can just push them back, I’ve never had to remove or trim.
3. Along with my oil I use cuticle butter throughout the day.  I’ve just started using lemony flutter by Lush and it’s amazing! rub a small bit into each nail and cuticle.  It is a bit sticky though, so that’s why I also have Burt’s Bees cuticle cream too.  This is more like a balm and is great to quickly make your cuticles look healthy.
4. I file my nails with a crystal nail file from Leighton Denny.  I always used to hate filing and still do, but I find the crystal files more bearable and also they’re better for your nails! It’s important that you inspect your nails as regularly as possible and smooth out any jagged edges, these can quickly turn into big breaks!

 

Now the key for healthy nails is to find out what your nails like best and to keep up a routine.  Even if your nails aren’t brittle and are soft, always use oil and keep them hydrated throughout the day.  If they are still weak, you may need to look into adding a nail strengthener and/or vitamins.  I keep my nails squoval as I find it works best for me.  Naturally they’re rounded and I’ve tried them square but the corners break off.  If you’re looking to build up your nail strength then a natural shape like round or squoval is usually best.  You can go onto square or another shape once they’re strong enough.  Don’t buff your nails often! I rarely buff, it weakens them, only do it when necessary.

Use gloves when washing up and try to avoid using your nails as tools! My nails are pretty long and that won’t suit everyone’s lifestyle but you can still have a routine to get your nails healthy and strong.

I’m no expert but these are the key things I find keeps my nails strong and healthy.

Now onto the nail art 🙂 I used Models Own Beth’s Blue and then applied PMP my girl with the brush to create a sort of gradient effect.  I then added white dots with a nail art pen, finished with a coat of Seche Vite and added a 3d butterfly for added cuteness! The butterflies were from an assorted pot from the pound shop! bargain!

I hope you’ve enjoyed 🙂 Char xx

19 comments on “Nail Care with So You Beauty

  1. lemmingsundae
    July 4, 2013

    I’ve just started using Lemony Flutter as well – I seriously can’t stop smelling my hands when it’s on!

    • Char
      July 4, 2013

      Yep I think it’s yummy although I know people that don’t like the smell of it xx

  2. uknailrunner
    July 4, 2013

    Your nails are fab and that’s such a pretty mani!

    I like my nails longer too, and I totally agree the best thing you can do to keep them in good condition and avoid breaking is to moisturise (oils, cuticle butters and handcreams) at every opportunity. I carry all this stuff around with me all the time too 🙂

    • Char
      July 4, 2013

      Thanks so much 🙂
      Yep it’s funny how moisturising can make all the difference! xx

  3. Char
    July 4, 2013

    Yep lemony flutter is yummy 🙂 thanks for having me Charlie xx

  4. Georgie
    July 4, 2013

    Amazing guest post! My nails are in a seriously sorry state, so I will give them some tlc with your tips 🙂 Your nails are incredible Char!

    • Char
      July 4, 2013

      Thanks Georgie 🙂 yep you’ll get them healthy in no time if you make sure to give them regular tlc! good luck 🙂 x

  5. QueenMiSeRy
    July 4, 2013

    I’m a Burt’s Bees and oil addicted too and before going to bed I generously apply my hand moisturizer and keep my cotton gloves all night long.
    LD’s crystal nailfile is awesome *__* definitely the best file in the world!

    And your Model’s Own manicure is beautiful ❤

    • Char
      July 4, 2013

      Yay, doesn’t Burt’s Bees smell amazing? I’m always opening it to smell it 😀
      I might try cotton gloves, I haven’t yet tried that! that’s what hand models use!
      I have a ciate crystal file coming soon too, will be interesting to see how that compares to LD xx

      • QueenMiSeRy
        July 4, 2013

        B’sB smells amazing 😀 it’s like a drug!
        I’ve also got MontBleu glass nailfile and it’s gorgeous too, but I must say nothing compares to LD’s one!

  6. Nada
    July 4, 2013

    OOooOO saw one naked nail 😉 Great post! Thanks for the tips 😀 Mine always break so wondered if oil would help! x

    • Char
      July 4, 2013

      Haha, one is all you’re getting Nada 😀
      No problem, definitely try oil 🙂 xx

  7. Lisa N.
    July 4, 2013

    This was great to read!!

    • Char
      July 4, 2013

      Thanks Lisa 🙂 xx

  8. Elise G
    July 4, 2013

    My nails AND hair are in a sorry state. I need to stop spending less on expensive makeup and more on Viviscal (the only product that has ever improved my hair & nails, it’s a vitamin with…fish extract or something in it, yuk).
    Thank you for the post, it was really helpful!

    • Char
      July 4, 2013

      Ooh I’ve never heard of that! might look at that 🙂 I hate fish though so hope it doesn’t taste of it haha
      No problem, thank you for reading 🙂 xx

  9. nailsbeautiqued
    July 4, 2013

    Your nails are beautiful Char! Since I’m wearing my long I think I’m going to go ahead and round off the square edge to keep them from breaking. I too use lots of oils and cremes 🙂

    • Char
      July 4, 2013

      Aw thanks Rhonda! yours are amazing too! never seen as fast growing nails as yours!
      Yeah square breaks so easy with me! some people seem to be able to handle it but I got annoyed with all the corners breaking off. xx

  10. ✿ayaka✿
    July 7, 2013

    Love the poundshop butterfly ♥

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on July 4, 2013 by in Guest Post, Nail Art, Swatch, Tools, Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
