Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Fifth of July

Ciate Jewel and Heirloom

Ciate Jewel and Heirloom

 There was a very exciting flash sale at the weekend on the Ciate website which meant that many of their products were half price and they also offer free delivery – it would have been a slap in the face not to make the most of it. I added 10 bottles to my cart and checking swatches on line I managed to get down to just two! Jewel is a blue tinted mass of holographic slices/bar glitter which I am incredibly in love with – it is super dense and the glitters apply with little or no over hang. The brush lid is longer than I am used to and the brush does pick up A LOT of product but it was very manageable to apply and finished relatively smooth (although I added topcoat anyway). Heirloom is a stunning duo chrome although I have yet to test it out… the picture is picking up the green end of the antiqued duo-chrome and there is a lot of warmth from the other end of the colour spectrum. I cannot wait to test this one out. Total of £9 for two stunning full size bottles of a popular semi-luxury brand. I should add that these polishes were exceptionally well wrapped and delivered via interlink express which is a good delivery service with excellent communication. 

China Glaze Scandalous Shenanigans

CG Scandalous Shenanigans, Ciate Jewel, OPI Affair in Red Square

So onto the nails! I actually had these for the fourth of July but since I had the wonderful post from Char yesterday I decided to save posting these up until today!

I used the brand new autumn shade of blue from China Glaze in Scandalous Shenanigans  which I am so in love with – it’s a dark and creamy blue metallic which applied so easily to the nail (although the brush does tend to overload itself a little). I couldn’t not use Ciate Jewel which looks so much like fireworks and also has the most brilliant holo sparkle. Finally, I have OPI Affair in Red Square which is a stunning red metallic sent to me by my best American friend. I thought I wouldn’t get away with using it until xmas but I found a good excuse!

FourthofJuly2So, what did I do with these beauties? I added Jewel over Scandalous Shenanigans for my faourite accent finger. Then over white I used some cling film/saran wrap to apply Scandalous Shenanigans over Natural Collection White to create a faded blue look, once this was dry I added some stamped stars in white. I used striping tape and a healthy layer of Affair in Red Square over Natural Collection White to create my stripes. These colors are just so pretty and this mani doesn’t take much skill or time at all – while you’re waiting on one layer to dry you can work on another finger.

I hope you like this design, I definitely enjoyed remixing the good ole stars and stripes and hope all those across the pond had a great day. I am off for a cup of tea now and other very British activities shortly!

In exciting news I have very nearly sold out of the new summer collection and I am blown away by the response and support – if you have missed out then never fear there is a restock on Monday and I will also be launching a new summer Glitter Baby called I Want Candy. It will be first come, first serve from 9am on Monday morning – hopefully I’ll see some of you there. More pictures, swatches and information are available on the facebook page.

neonmix

 

8 comments on “Fifth of July

  1. Shoe
    July 5, 2013

    So nice ! =) really love your blog it’s “fresh” and great !

  2. Lisa N.
    July 7, 2013

    Cute nails!

  3. indienailblog
    July 22, 2013

    So disappointed i missed out on I Want Candy! Excited to see what else you come up iwith in the future

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
