Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Back to basics

It has been a while since I have really sat down to do my nails let alone nail art – these days I only seem to have time for a quick paint job. Having promised to do some art on the blog today I was in a mild panic… WHAT TO DO?!!?!? I loaded up an episode of Criminal Minds and grabbed a couple of my favourite colours and sat down.

HandM1

It had to be dots – it is quick, easy and where I started with nail art (after stamping). I am definitely out of practice but these colours make me so happy that it doesn’t matter to me.

HandM3

I started with a base of Natural Collection White to make sure that the colours pop. I dotted on all of my yellow first to try and create a reasonable spacing, then added the darker colours in between. On my remaining fingers I added one coat of each of my colours over the majority of my nail leaving a thin white slice and once this was dry added an adjacent line of dots.

My Cheeky dotters never fail me, so many choices of size! These were a gift for me so I’m not sure how much they were but they are available through amazon and cheaper non branded versions can also be found on ebay. If you’ve never tried nail art they’re a super quick way to spice up a mani and they don’t have to be perfect to be effective.

HandM4

On to my thumb I added the other perfect way to spice up a mani – glitter! In this instance School’s Out which is a matte hot orange, blue and yellow hex mix from my August collection (currently out of stock but it will be restocked on the 12th of August). This picture shows three coats – I normally don’t apply my glitters for density but I am quite pleased with how this one built up and how the colours look layered.

These H&M polishes really are very awesome. They apply so easily! Lindalicious and Blue My Mind are perfect in two coats, Lemon Tree takes three to build up the colour without undies but is worth it for its slight ocher tint. These normally sell for £2.99 but I bought Linda… and Blue… for just £1 each! Linda… has a slight pink shimmer to it which really gives it a warm and summery depth. Blue… is almost a perfect true blue but it perhaps leans a tiny bit into perriwinkle which I love. I honestly think that at the moment this is my FAVOURITE blue. I haven’t had any issues with staining from any of these polishes but I do always wear a base coat with these as they are very highly pigmented. I would say these are as good as BarryM polishes and they seem to come from a great fashion colour palette. What do you think of this combo? Have you fallen in love with any brands recently? What do you think of H&M polishes? Ok interrogation over! 😀 Please leave me a comment in the section below!

HandM2

10 comments on “Back to basics

  1. jordie
    August 7, 2013

    i like the design you came up with

  2. TinkerNails Nail Art
    August 7, 2013

    This is really cute and simple, love it Charlie 😀 xx

  3. Kitsu
    August 7, 2013

    This is so cute!

  4. Elise G
    August 7, 2013

    I’ve never tried H&M polishes; I’m usually hesitant to buy makeup at fast-fashion stores. But you’ve talked me into it…good thing I have an H&M gift card just laying around, waiting to be put to good use!

  5. Lisa N.
    August 7, 2013

    Cute! Love dots 🙂

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on August 7, 2013 by in Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
