Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

In The Milkyway with Lilypad Lacquer

inthemilkyway3

This beauty is from a new to me brand called Lilypad Lacquer which is based in Oz – I ordered this one direct however due to the tightening of international postal rules I won’t be able to do that again. In good news however it is stocked by Sally Magpie’s so I hope that there will be more Lilypad beauties in my future.

inthemilkyway2All of these pictures are three coats (although the polish was perfect and even in two). In the Milkyway is a soft powder grey with a gentle holo which is just so pretty and office friendly! I have to admit when I first got the bottle I was a little disappointed that the holo was not more pronounced but once it was on my nails I realised just how perfectly balanced this polish was.

Application was a breeze and it was so glossy you could get away without a topcoat. The brushes really do load up and I did find myself removing a lot of excess as it is a thinner polish and I didn’t want to flood my cuticles. I am pleased to report that this polish was in no way chalky and cleaning up the edges was quick and effortless. In the picture below I hope you can just about see the fine holo sparkle peeking through – it was more apparent in real life but seems to be very camera shy.

inthemilkyway1

inthemilkyway4

Never one to leave things alone I grabbed my new MoYou stamping plate (Pro Collection 08) and added in some sparkly roses with OPI You Only Live Twice. I promise you I thought I had cleaned up these nails perfectly but nothing escapes the scrutinizing glare of macro photography it would seem. I misplaced my konad scraper and resorted to an old plastic store card and I actually think this worked much better with these plates – removing the right amount of polish so happy accident there! I think this design is just the right level of girly for me.

I picked up OPI You Only Live Twice (from the 2012 bond collection) in a swap with the lovely Cazzy from SpecialGirl Nails and it really is a stunner. I shall have to remember to do some swatches at some point, along with some of my other recent redish purchases. I am really impressed with how well it stamped considering it is fairly shimmery – just goes to show you don’t know until you try it!

5 comments on “In The Milkyway with Lilypad Lacquer

  1. Cazzy Durcan
    September 14, 2013

    I had no idea it stamped lol

  2. Catherine Dream
    October 13, 2013

    I actually really like this colours, quite original I think. And I loooooove those roses! I usually hate flowery nails and stamping, but I think since these are a bit more graphic, less cutsy, it works really well. Love the mani!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      October 13, 2013

      I am not very good at twee girly flowers either so pleased you like this! I tried not to make it look too Cath Kidson.

  3. Catherine Dream
    October 15, 2013

    lol!

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on September 13, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
