Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Born Pretty Flower Power!

BornPrettyFlowers1

Ever since I got into nail art decorations I have coveted the dried flowers. I am not entirely sure why but I wanted them.. BADLY. I managed to distract myself with all sorts of wonderful sparklies and polish but Born Pretty Store recently offered to send me some for review and it would have been rude to say no! There might have been happy dancing… shhh…

In the wheel there are lots of dried flowers to choose from in a complete rainbow of colours – in both spray and single flower form (I use both for the manicure). They are very delicate so I would recommend having some tweezers at the ready if you’re all thumbs like me!

I have to say I am really impressed with how many of each flower you get – the wheels I have seen else where always seem half full and not enough for full/multiple manicures – I can safely reassure you that Born Pretty have not been miserly with their provision of flowers.

BornPrettyFlowers2

I had a small nightmare trying to decide what colours to use purely because there was so much choice. I picked up an untried custom polish from Love Nailz which has a soft pink base and multi-coloured pastel hexes. The application on this polish was great – just three thin and easy coats. On my ring finger I added 3 coats of W7 Sheer Pink. Once the final coat of these polishes was very nearly dry I tipped out my chosen flowers and prepared to put them in place.

BornPrettyFlowers4I cut one of the purple sprays in half and placed the two halfs on opposite sides of my ring finger to get full coverage – I could have done with a small pair of scissors for precision trimming perhaps but I actually kind of liked the slightly unruly effect of these flowers bursting across my nail. The large one piece flower was a very simple application and lay perfectly flat. To make these nails a little bit harder wearing and more practical I did add topcoat – I would recommend a matte topcoat if you really want to maintain that dried flower look. I guess the pastels make this manicure a more spring look but I can’t wait for the depths of winter when I am missing flowers and greenery to whip out this wheel and add some instant blossoms to my fingers. I am sure there are lots of ways to cut these flowers and they would probably look amazing combined with other nail art such as stamping (can you tell my mind is bubbling with ideas?)!

If you’d like to get your hands on some dried flowers click HERE and use the code: XFL91 to get 10% off. Don’t forget that Born Pretty also has free international shipping. The more people that use my code, the closer I will get to being able to do a giveaway sponsored by the lovely Born Pretty Store.

BornPrettyFlowers3

7 comments on “Born Pretty Flower Power!

  1. Elise G
    September 19, 2013

    These are so cool! Are there any application issues with dried flowers in general – like, do they contrast against dark polish or are they pretty sheer? Do they stick to wet polish, or would you recommend glue/topcoat? And did you have any issues with the flowers dissolving against any polishes or topcoats?

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      September 19, 2013

      No dissolving issues that I have experienced and the flowers are pretty opaque. They will stick to wet polish but because they are fragile I would recommend topcoat over the top to protect them for wearing.

  2. Craftynail
    September 19, 2013

    very cool, pmp!

  3. Notorious Beauty Blog
    September 19, 2013

    I have never seen people use flowers as nail art before that is absolutely beautiful! I want some now 🙂

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      September 20, 2013

      😀 Do it! The ones from Born Pretty were really nice to work with and a good price.

  4. Pingback: Spring Flowers | Nic Nac Nails

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on September 19, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
