Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Mermaid Scales and Fishy Tails

Mermaidscales2How to create mottled mermaid scales when you’re out of make up sponge… I ended up blobbing polishes onto a piece of paper and using my stamper to pick the colours up and apply them to my nails. I used a few different polishes including: Barrym Cyan Blue, Rimmel Pro Peppermint, Nails Inc Camden Lock and George Vivid Purple. Some of these are more opaque than others so I applied over a base of OPI I Vant To Be A Lonestar (which is opaque in 2-3 coats).

Mermaidnails

To even up the look at add even more sparkle I used my Collection Topcoat Sparkle Enchancer which as my friend once described ‘makes your nails look like they have fireworks on them’ – it is super glittery (although like dense holo topcoats it can lighten polishes if applied too thickly so I recommend one thin coat). Using my MoYou Sailor 04 plate I stamped on these fishy scales in Barrym Blackberry. 

I added a coat of Colour Club Topcoat which sadly has gone a little bit gloopy as I have gotten to the bottom of my bottle. It is a pretty good topcoat for stamping and only caused minor smudges to my design (it usually doesn’t cause any smudging but I was a little over hasty with this manicure). So what do you think? Does this look mermaidy to you? I love these negative space designs – especially because you can have a mixed background underneath.

mermaid1

13 comments on “Mermaid Scales and Fishy Tails

  1. Elise G
    September 23, 2013

    Pretty! And a great idea to stamp the pattern over the glitter topcoat. You get just enough peeking out.

  2. nicjaywood
    September 26, 2013

    Looks amazing!

  3. vancouverinheels
    October 1, 2013

    Ooooooo…. I love your mermaid nails!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      October 3, 2013

      Thanks lovely! Hope you’re well, not seen you around for ages!

      • vancouverinheels
        October 5, 2013

        I’m well, thanks for asking 🙂 I just started a new job, and am trying to balance blogging and work, hehe

      • pocketmoneypolishes
        October 5, 2013

        Awww I hope the new job is going well!

      • vancouverinheels
        October 7, 2013

        Thanks! *hugs* it lets me afford more nail polish, hehe!

      • pocketmoneypolishes
        October 7, 2013

        Can’t wait to see your latest goodies and feel all envious!

      • vancouverinheels
        October 7, 2013

        Hehe, no envy. Just nail polish love all around. I’ve had to get creative as my new workplace requires neutral nails

  4. Catherine Dream
    October 13, 2013

    I love the mermaid design!
    And also, maybe try a washing up sponge next time you’re out of makeup sponges? Although the stamper idea, ingenious. 🙂

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      October 13, 2013

      Yeh I did think afterwards that I could have looked a bit further for something spongey but hey ho 😀 worked out ok.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on September 23, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
