Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Tara’s Talons Custom Collection: Crime Shows

Grabbed a sneaky five minutes to write up this blog post before launch this evening – sorry for any mistakes just so excited to share with you all! 

So I was busy pouting about missing out on some special polishes Tara posted for Halloween (I lost in a game of fastest finger first) when I suddenly thought… why don’t I just order a custom collection that will be exactly what I want? It costs only a little more than buying off the shelf and the experience is truly great fun. The hardest thing for me to do was narrow down my ideas.

I knew I wanted a collection inspired by my favourite crime TV shows and luckily, Tara loves a lot of them too so we could bounce ideas between us. I would say to anyone thinking about a custom set have some clear ideas about what you want – colours, images, names, glitters you like, finishes you like etc as the more you give a creator to work with the better the polish will turn out (alas we are not mind readers). The great thing about Tara is she takes what you give her and runs with it and then will keep twiddling with the formula until you’re happy, at no extra charge. I have to say she got two out of four polishes spot on first time, one polish needed only a minor formula tweak and the last polish didn’t seem quite right (although in the end it did work out that I went with the first version of this polish).

ONTO THE GOODIES!!

Crimecollection5

(Left to Right): You’re on Speakerphone, The Lab, Nikki Heat and Mind Games

I decided to go for 5ml bottles mainly due to limited funds and not wanting to lose too many of my ideas, I now of course wish I had gotten full size bottles.

Crimecollection2

All of these polishes are pictured with three coats and top coat.

I only used 3 out of 4 for this mani as I have other plans for You’re On Speakerphone.

Mind Games is inspired by The Mentalist and is made up of amazing holo gold with additional blue and red flecks. This polish builds up perfectly with even coverage the finish is slightly rough but nothing one thin coat of topcoat didn’t fix. It is utterly dazzling and 100% captures what I had envisioned for this polish which is all about the tv shows main character Patrick Jane.

Nikki Heat (inspired by Castle) I had a really particular idea for the colours I wanted but wasn’t sure how I wanted them combined – Tara came up with this stunning ruby sparkle cherry red jelly base with black matte hex and hearts which is perfect and layers up to opacity.  This polish has plenty of hearts and I did absolutely NO FISHING. As someone who makes glitter polishes I know how hard it is to get the right balance of glitters and Tara is a wizard. I think this polish could be transformed by being layered over other colours too but I am just delighted with it here in its natural jelly goodness.

All of these polishes are pictured with three coats and top coat.

All of these polishes are pictured with three coats and top coat.

I actually have this mani on both hands so be prepared for some shots of my right hand! I have to say posing with the wrong hand is very strange but this is just how much I love these polishes.

The Lab is inspired by Bones and has so many different kinds of glitter in – lots of silvers, greys. a few black and white and some white skulls. If I am honest I really wasn’t bothered by the skull shaped glitters that have been everywhere recently but they are just so fitting for this polish… it had to be done. The first coat of the blue jelly base was sheer so I was a bit worried about how it would layer up but by three it was pretty opaque and any VNL is obscured by glitter. Again you could easilly layer this polish over undies for a differnet look. The skulls did take two layers of topcoat for me to be happy with the smoothness but I think I was just being overly fussy – I wanted this manicure to be perfect as I love these polishes so much and intend to wear them over the weekend.

CrimeCollection

So, what do you think of my collection? Would you like your own custom collection – what would you base it on?

To find out more about Tara’s Talons head HERE or if you’re ready to go shopping head HERE.

To see more blogs about UK Indies why not check out our Inlinkz by clicking on the froggie!

19 comments on “Tara’s Talons Custom Collection: Crime Shows

  1. gingerlovesmakeup
    October 4, 2013

    These are pretty.

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      October 4, 2013

      Thank you – would you believe me if I said they were even more beautiful and sparkly in real life?!

      • gingerlovesmakeup
        October 4, 2013

        Don’t! Haha! I just bought 15 polishes. My husband is close to going bonkers over my polish addiction… 😀

      • pocketmoneypolishes
        October 4, 2013

        lol oh dear! What did you get? *nosey*

      • gingerlovesmakeup
        October 4, 2013

        14 Accessorize polishes (mainly speckle and glitter) and one Revlon…. I have around 300 polishes already and spending got a little out of hand lately.

      • pocketmoneypolishes
        October 4, 2013

        These things do tend to snowball 😛 Maybe set yourself an untried challenge for a while?

      • gingerlovesmakeup
        October 4, 2013

        That might end in a swatch-athon. 🙂 Last week I have picked 20 polishes randomly and I will wear each one at least once before I buy more. At least I made a start. 😉

  2. Laurie Lovett-Parsons
    October 4, 2013

    They are all beautiful!!!!!

  3. aphroditeinvancouver
    October 4, 2013

    Those are absolutely stunning. I’m happy to hear about the lack of fishing required. Fishing for glitter is the bane of my existence on some days.

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      October 4, 2013

      I have been very lucky to never have a polish that requires copious fishing, but I can imagine what a nightmare it can be.

  4. Julie
    October 5, 2013

    This is an awesome collection! If I designed a custom collection right now honestly it would probably be Game of Thrones based. I’m very into the books at the moment!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      October 5, 2013

      That would be fab! Any ideas what sort of polishes you’d do?

      • Julie
        October 5, 2013

        Something red with gold glitter inspired by the Lannisters, maybe a black holo type for the Night Watch, and perhaps a an eerie blue one for the Others

      • pocketmoneypolishes
        October 5, 2013

        OOOOOO sounds amazing!

  5. Claire Stephen
    October 5, 2013

    hey Charlie! love the blog, you know i do!
    have nominated you for a blog Your heart out award, hope you dont have it yet! Click here to find out how to accept it!
    http://www.pennyforthemuk.com/2013/10/nominated-for-blog-your-heart-out.html

  6. Pingback: Top Ten Polishes | Pocket Money Polishes

  7. Pingback: Blue for Autism Awareness April | Pocket Money Polishes

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
