Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Untried Challenge #1

In an effort to survive periods of no buy – nail polish addicts have banded together to support each other and as a distraction we’ve come up with a small casual challenge to keep us going. I am not on a strict no buy but really I do not need the 14 or so polishes that are sat in various shopping baskets across the web. If you’d like to join in, let me know and I’ll set up an inlinkz!

Challenge Number One: Find your oldest untried polish and try it out! 

– additional challenge: combine it with one of the polishes you have tried but haven’t used in a while! 

I actually forgot about the additional challenge whilst putting my mani together (considering that I came up with the first few challenges… naughty me!). So fail on that point – no bonus points for me.

xmascrow2

This is actually my oldest untried with one of my newest. I bought CrowsToes A Christmas Crow waaaay back when I first discovered nail sales and way before I started really wearing indie polish. It is a gorgeous dark brown with gold and red glitters (which shifts to green depending on the angle and the light) – this is a very me polish. It is a little sheer to start with but builds up easily and has a healthy shine all by itself, although I did add a coat of Color Club Top Coat for extra glossy. It would probably be worth layering this over a dark colour to start with if you’re short on time as waiting between layers is a serious time killer but I do enjoy the depth of a built up jelly polish!

XmasCrow

 I combined A Christmas Crow with OPI Goldeneye which was gifted to me by the lovely Cazzy (along with some other stunning polishes which will no doubt be making appearances very VERY soon). This is a gold shimmer foil which like the CrowsToes did need building up but wow is it worth it. Just all kinds of golden gorgeousness! The layers were super smooth and even to apply causing ZERO drama. The OPI brush is just perfect in my opinion for a stress free application which needs minimum clean up. On this note the CrowsToes brush was not too shabby to work with either.

Goldeneye is from last years fall collection inspired by James Bond – I am slowly building up my collection of these polishes and am now certain I want them all…wait… this challenge was meant to be persuading me I didn’t need to buy more polish *sigh*. These polishes are all available from Nail Polish Direct for £7.95 which is not too bad as many other places and you’re also guaranteed to get an authentic polish (be very very very careful on ebay now!).

I was heartbroken to remove my customs from Tara especially has they had absolutely no wear or tear – I think there is witchcraft at work here! I am currently still going to be blogging a little bit sporadically but I hope to share with you every time I share my polish!

10 comments on “Untried Challenge #1

  1. Judith Macfadyen
    October 6, 2013

    What a good idea, I must have around 100 untrieds! They have got a bit out if hand recently 😦

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      October 6, 2013

      I look forward to seeing your pretties! 😀 Untrieds always seem to snowball.

  2. mellb00
    October 6, 2013

    Can I join in please, need to get back to blogging :p
    Lovely nails, can’t believe you had a CrowsToes polish and not worn it!

  3. Kitsu
    October 6, 2013

    That’s such a good idea to use untrieds! And those colors are both gorgeous 😀

  4. Tamit24
    October 13, 2013

    simply combination but so well matched!

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on October 6, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
