Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

On my nails this week

I’m afraid to say that I haven’t really spent much time on my nails this week as I have been doing a lot of DIY and housework (which is very hazardous as many of you will know). Additionally, my camera disappeared off on holiday with my parents so I only have access to the camera on my sisters phone which whilst better than the camera on my phone is still not the best. ANYWAY, I thought I would share with you something that was on my nails this week.

Lucerne

The base creme here is Rimmel Grey Matter which is a perfect mid-tone grey, I am not sure if you can still pick this up in stores but it is on Fragrance Direct at the moment for 99p along with a lot of other great Rimmel polishes. I am near the end of my bottle now so should probably get around to ordering another one.

My accent nail is Lucerne-tainly Look Marvellous from OPI. Which is a dark grey with a micro sparkle in a whole rainbow of colours – my camera enjoyed picking up the green. I recently got On Her Majesties Secret Service from last years James Bond collection and whilst they aren’t perfect dupes you probably don’t need both so if you can’t get Lucerne… there is another option (available from Nail Polish Direct for £7.99 or ask around on Nail sales!).

Lucerne2For the glitter I added one coat of PMP White Xmas which is from my special Santa Babies collection – I thought it kind of helped in creating a sort of grey ombre manicure across my nails – many shades of grey.

White Xmas is a little snow storm in a bottle with lots of white small hexes, white squares and then rainbow iridescent bars and micro glitter. Since I designed it this probably is going to sound very biased but I do really like this glitter topper and think it will probably work in most seasons – can you picture it over summer neons?! (This polish is available for purchase HERE)

Anyway, I was really happy with this manicure and no fiddly nail art so it was easy to complete on both hands – that’s right, I am trying to actually have my hands match at the moment!

Bonus Post (taken from my post on a nail group this week): 

Untried Challenge #2: Confessions

My name is Charlie Smith and I am a polish addict on a low buy.

So my last purchase was technically yesterday – I scooped up 4 OPIs for £16 on nail sale and it was totally worth it. I may have duped one of my Nails Inc reds but we will see when the bottles arrive later this week. I am trying to think about what other nail mail is on its way – 2 Dragonglass minis should be on their way soon which I am super excited about. I have been working my way through the UK indies slowly. I am afraid I don’t have any pictures to share as these spendings were too recent – bad Charlie, I know!

Sins: A while back I ordered A LOT of various cheap brands from superdrug in a bid to test out different low cost brands for my blog – I regret a lot of these purchases if I am honest, many of them have gone in a box in the wardrobe never to see the light of day again. I was super disappointed with my NYC polishes which were good colours and reasonable application but the smell was super toxic. I also have a ColorShow in Superpower Blue – love the name, love the colour but it stained both myself and my mum smurf blue for a long time. I did end up having to buff out the blue on my nails and use a fairly harsh makeup remover on my skin.

11 comments on “On my nails this week

  1. thinklovemakeup
    October 13, 2013

    Very cute, I really like the ultra glitter nail.

  2. ScorpionGlow
    October 14, 2013

    Love the greys. I have Lucerne & the Bond polish and they’re really not that similar. Best Bond color is Moonraker, it’s stunning. I also loved the Liquid Sand Bond Girl in Solitaire. So fun to wear, even for a super pale girl like myself. =)

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      October 14, 2013

      I think the base colour is similar but the overall sparkle and finish is fairly different. I loved the swatches of Solitaire but went for the Barrym textured white (as I was supposed to be on a no buy). Pale girls unite! ❤

      • ScorpionGlow
        October 14, 2013

        Sometimes it’s hard to tell until you wear them side by side, but I’m sure many of us have noticed there are a LOT of similarities from collection to collection, especially with OPI and China Glaze.
        I haven’t bought any new polish in a long time either. In fact, I was thinking about listing a bunch I’ve never used or worn, and seeing if anyone was willing to trade with me. I have some up on Ebay, but no one is buying them. They’re either too bright for me or I bought them in a large lot at some point.

      • pocketmoneypolishes
        October 14, 2013

        Don’t get me wrong – I am glad I have them both but was just suggesting if you can’t get Lucerne then there is a more current bottle option. I love my OPI collection (which is still in the earlier stages of development).
        I have a few things up for sale/trade at the moment – mainly because they’re not my colour 😀 Are you in the UK? I think a lot of people are becoming weary of buying from ebay with all the fakes around.

      • ScorpionGlow
        October 15, 2013

        I wasn’t correcting you or anything, it was a simple statement. When you spend a lot of time looking at polish from so many brands, both high and low end, they all start to look alike after a while. They just have different names. It’s not uncommon at all.
        No, I am not in the UK. I’m in the U.S. I’ve never sold a fake anything in my entire life, but I’m well aware that some people do it. I have yet to have a bad polish buying experience on Ebay. Maybe it’s different with overseas sellers, which I tend to avoid.
        My nail polish collection is insane. Every year I go through it and toss a few bottles for various reasons, but I became a big Essie fan over the last two years, so unless I’m buying Sinful Colors, I’m looking for good deals on Essie polish.

      • pocketmoneypolishes
        October 15, 2013

        There’s a group on facebook you might want to try out for sales called No BS Polish Sales – seems to be good and active 🙂 I know a few people that have ended up with fakes and especially with things like black label OPI etc it can be hard to tell – it’s strange the lengths people will go to to make money sometimes… I mean, who’d have thought… fake nail polish?
        I only have one Essie which was a major lemming (Penny Talk) but hopefully I will get to try out some more in the future. I have read mixed reviews about the formula though. Which would you recommend?

      • ScorpionGlow
        October 15, 2013

        I don’t get involved much with anything on Facebook. I have a profile page for my writing and that’s it.
        I’d never even dream up the whole “fake nail polish” idea, leave alone attempt such a thing. That’s pretty low in my book.
        I have the Essie color you mentioned and it was marketed as a Rose Gold. SO NOT!! I was disappointed with that one, but I bought several others from the Metallics collection and they’re all awesome. No Place Like Chrome is one of the best and I have Blue Rhapsody on right now, it’s so pretty.
        I like metallics because they dry fast and I’m always in a rush to get out of the nail salon if it’s busy or loud in there. Plus I hate their dryers, so I prefer anything that dries quickly and won’t be dented the second I get to my car.
        I’m a fan of blues, greys, and purples, so I tend to lean towards those shades when I’m buying any brand of polish, but I also like things that have a bit of mystery to them. My Private Jet by OPI is a fave, as is Lincoln Park After Dark Suede. Russian Navy Suede is also an awesome shade. Sephora has a great OPI line, but it’s expensive, so I don’t buy them often.
        I probably have a ton of recommendations. What types of colors are your faves?

  3. tamit24 (@tamiit24)
    October 16, 2013

    Love this combo! you’ve mix’n’matched it all perfectly!

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on October 13, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
