Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

OPI Muir Muir On The Wall (San Fran Collection)

*Disclosure: This product sent to me for review but this does not influence the opinions expressed in this blog which are entirely my own.

I did a little bit of googling and found out that ‘muir’ is a Gaelic word for ‘sea’ as well as being the name of quite a few places in San Francisco – just an interesting tidbit I came across.  Looking at pictures during my search the following colour reminds me of images of the Golden Gate bridge at night/sunset – have a look and see what you think (am I just being artsy fartsy?) anyway, on to the reason we’re all here today – the nail polish…

MuirMuir2

OPI Muir Muir On The Wall

As my nail polish collection grows I am starting to realise that I am becoming more attracted to certain brands over others – OPI is becoming a firm favourite as I find their brushes good to work with and their formulas problem free. This year for autumn they released their San Francisco collection for the Autumn/Winter period and the colours were just perfect for the change of seasons and for me. One of the more unique shades in the collection (to my eyes at least) is Muir Muir On The Wall which is described as a plum with a shimmer finish.

MuirMuir3

MuirMuir

This polish is so much more than just a plum with a shimmer finish. These pictures show three thin coats with no topcoat (unless otherwise noted) – the first coat is a little sheer but actually tells you a bit about how this polish is made up. It appears to be a grey olive base with a warm plum/burgundy shimmer which translates into a duochrome finish in some angles – making for a beautiful and complex polish. As you can see even without topcoat this polish has a nice shine and the shimmer really does catch the light. Unlike some shimmer heavy polishes I experience no problems with brush strokes at all and it was easy to tidy up any slip ups with a cotton bud (without leaving any shimmer residue).

The shimmer in this polish has a really lovely warm glow to it which is perfect as the evenings draw in and it gets considerably colder and rainier. I find the duochrome which is fairly obvious in the bottle is not as dominant on the nail but does transform the polish at certain angles and lights – something which I think works in the polishes favour as I don’t think this is a colour that will go quickly out of fashion and just adds some depth to the colour.

OPI polishes are advertised as glossy and chip resistant – I definitely think that shine wise this polish does hold its own but due to the fact I am very hard on my nails I had to add a topcoat. For me this really enhanced the shimmer of the polish for a full wow effect – it also balanced out any minor flaws in my nails which were visible under the macro lens.

MuirMuir4

(with topcoat)

Here I am groping one of my freshly baked brownies and for anyone worried you can clearly see that this polish is not ‘brown’ but exceedingly drool worthy. I am giving this the full wear test with lots of typing and house hold cleaning and am pleased to report it is holding up perfectly! I was going to jazz this up with some stamping but to be honest, I just love this polish the way it is! What do you think of this colour? Do you like my props? The hay was kindly donated by the bunnies who did give me a funny look when I grabbed a handful and walked away with it, rather than sharing. As ever please feel free to share your thoughts with a comment below!

This polish is available for sale HERE as well as the usual OPI stockists.

19 comments on “OPI Muir Muir On The Wall (San Fran Collection)

  1. ScorpionGlow
    October 19, 2013

    I saw this at my nail salon. You just saved me upwards of $9. I know I’ve got about 20 colors that look exactly like this. However, it looks really pretty on you. It’s a great Fall/Winter color.

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      October 19, 2013

      I found it hard to catch the duochrome colour flip – but I think either Scrangie or Polisholic did manage it if you want to doubly make sure this polish isn’t for your collection!

      • ScorpionGlow
        October 21, 2013

        I’ve seen it at the salon, and it’s the kind of polish I might wear once, so I don’t need to have it. I do want several from that collection though, they’re super pretty.

      • pocketmoneypolishes
        October 21, 2013

        Which ones you got your eye on?

  2. Lou
    October 19, 2013

    Love this one, one of my fave places on our honeymoon was Muir Woods. It looks great on you

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      October 19, 2013

      Awww thank you lovely! Sounds like a good honeymoon to me – what do you think of the San Francisco collection?

      • Lou
        October 19, 2013

        I think that about half of it is lovely, although I have loads of dark vampy shades already, I just cannot help myself!!

      • pocketmoneypolishes
        October 19, 2013

        I wasn’t going to get any of them to start with… I think I only have 2 or 3 left to get although I am not getting the frosty blue because I’d never use it.

      • Lou
        October 19, 2013

        I’ve got the blue one, its much better than I thought it would be 🙂

      • pocketmoneypolishes
        October 19, 2013

        Oh really? hmmm maybe I do need it *easily swayed*

  3. LB BEAUTY DIVA
    October 27, 2013

    Love your poses with polish! I do the same as well and hope you love my crazy food and polish pics!

  4. Pingback: Falling for OPI San Francisco | Pocket Money Polishes

  5. Pingback: OPI Haven’t The Foggiest (San Fran Collection) | Pocket Money Polishes

  6. Catherine Dream
    November 9, 2013

    This is beautiful, I have a similar shade Sinful colours, haven’t tried it yet, but they’re so lovely, rich chocolatey shimmers.
    And I have the same thing with OPI, I only got my first OPI like 2 weeks ago, but I think the brand will become my favourite soon. The formula is crazy buttery and you’re right about the brushes, very pleasant to paint with.

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      November 9, 2013

      I think I am probably going to go back to this polish at some point soon and give it a similar work out to Haven’t The Foggiest – see what it can inspire!

  7. Pingback: OPI San Francisco Collection Fall/Winter 2013 - Lashes & Curves

  8. Pingback: Court Nails: Tartan | Pocket Money Polishes

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
