Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Falling for OPI San Francisco

I had planned on doing a blog post yesterday but when I peeked in at my stash I felt overwhelmed and went to bed with nakey nails (shock horror). As I lay there trying to go to sleep my brain was suddenly flooded with manicure ideas and today I decided to try one of them out. I think the OPI San Francisco Collection (released for fall this year) is the nearest I have gotten to having a complete collection from a release and it is actually really nice to not have to do the hard work of thinking up complimentary colours – OPI has already done all that work for me after all.

OPISanFran4

L-R: Haven’t The Foggiest, Lost on Lombard and Incognito in Sausalito

Today has been pretty rubbish in terms of weather so all of these pictures were taken in my homemade lightbox – hopefully I can snag some pictures of these beautiful polishes in natural autumn light at some point soon.

OPISanFran8

OPISanFran11

OPISanFran9

OPISanFran1So, this mani started life as a pretty straight forward skittle – Incognito and Foggiest could easily be one coaters but Lombard seemed to be slightly thinner and definitely needed two. I find that really you should apply at least two coats of varnish anyway as this really does extend the wear life of your manicure; that said one coaters are great for when you’re in a rush and just need a touch of colour on your tips. The OPI pro-wide brush, as ever, made it easy for even and quick application and as you can see from  pictures all of these polishes have a lovely shine of their own (I added topcoat later, bare with). A quick bit about the polishes: Incognito in Sausalito is a lovely dark inky blue creme finish (which is nearly black in dim lighting), Lost on Lombard is a lovely berry red creme whilst Haven’t The Foggiest is a lovely shimmery silver foil. Now, on wards to the design!

OPISanFran7

OPISanFran5

For the next step I did a single plait/criss-cross manicure design by adding triangles of the other colours to my nails. This was done completely freehand although you could achieve perfectly straight lines by using tape (make sure you base colour is 100% dry before letting the stick stuff anywhere near it!). Make sure you let your colours dry between each layer and then topcoat to blend the layers for a smooth finish. I am near the end of my top-coats life so annoyingly I have a couple of bubbles that have popped up.

OPISanFran6I really like this manicure – the colours are perfectly complimentary and it was quick to do but I think the abstract pattern is fairly chic (as well as easy to do if you don’t have hours to spend on your nails but want something a little bit different). I actually was surprised by how much I was drawn to the plain skittle but hey, I couldn’t just give you guys plain nails after I have been so quiet lately.

After the nasty break my index finger is finally growing out and I am looking forward to being able to return it to its normal shape in the next week or two! Ooo another product I used in this manicure is the OPI Natural Base Coat which is a new base coat I bought for the bargain price of £4.99 (you can currently get this and the natural topcoat on amazon for around £10 which I think I will probably be investing in. The Natural Base Coat has a very slight pink tinge and is designed to protect your nails from staining which with a very pigmented dark blue like Incognito in Sausalito is very important. It applies smoothly and thinly and dries down to a semi matte finish that will hold you polish onto your nail. I think this is the best base coat I’ve ever had – what do you use? I am pleased to report that my nails have minimal discolouration and also seem to be a little stronger. I am still using cuticle oil and hand cream, as well as a cuticle cream at night so lots of hand pampering going on – it’s really not as high maintenance as it sounds but feels very luxurious. What’s your care routine?

For the sake of disclosure I should say that Haven’t The Foggiest was sent to me for review but I will be doing a proper review of it at some point this week (with some more nail art I should imagine). I bought all of the other polishes in this blog post (and so many more) with my own monies; so basically I have lots of new polishes to share with you – i including Nails Inc, more OPI and some lovely UK Indie polishes soon! Do you see why I was overwhelmed with choice?!

11 comments on “Falling for OPI San Francisco

  1. debbie jarman
    November 5, 2013

    love this plaited look, I really must be brave and try something like this… one day – it looks great, colours really work well together xx

  2. Catherine Dream
    November 5, 2013

    Love them all, especially the super dark blue.

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      November 6, 2013

      It is a fab blue and I am pleased to report zero staining and it is very un-messy on removal and during clean up. Big thumbs up!

  3. Craftynail
    November 5, 2013

    ooh i just bought Foggiest last week- can’t wait to try it !

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      November 5, 2013

      It’s really gorgeous and no brush stroke issues! Can’t wait to see what you do with it 😀 I miss our 30 day challenge fest :/

  4. Cazzy Durcan
    November 6, 2013

    So jealous of your freehand skills! I couldn’t get that neat a finish even if I used tape!

    I had the OPI Natural Nail base coat, I used it up pretty quickly actually, but Gelous has to be my favourite base coat

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      November 6, 2013

      You are queen of indie manis though – mine never apply as beautifully as yours. I have heard lots of good things about gelous – maybe I will be able to compare them at some point.

  5. Pingback: OPI Haven’t The Foggiest (San Fran Collection) | Pocket Money Polishes

  6. Pingback: Yes they’re all red… no they’re not the same | Pocket Money Polishes

  7. Pingback: OPI San Francisco Collection Fall/Winter 2013 - Lashes & Curves

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on November 5, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
